Given to the Earth

Given to the Earth

Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Although she was born to save the kingdom by sacrificing herself to the rising sea, Khosa's marriage to King Vincent has redeemed her. As the Queen of Stille, she's untouchable. But being Queen hasn't stopped her heart from longing for the King's stepbrother, Donil. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Althou...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Given to the Earth
Author:Mindy McGinnis
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:039954464X
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

Given to the Earth Reviews

  • Christina
    Aug 10, 2017
    Wow! Excellent sequel to the amazing Given to the Sea. McGinnis writes books that you have to slow down and savor; these are the most literary fantasy books I've ever read, very different and memorable. The stories of Khosa, the Given who is now The Redeemed, King Vincent, the Lithos ...
  • Kendall [Kenny]
    Sep 14, 2017
    Tbh I'm only really putting this on my to-read shelf because I want to know how things turn out. Can't leave the story unfinished lol ...
  • Danielle
    Apr 08, 2018
    The slow decay of magic in the book was pivotal in the book, Khosa is still having fits and being called to the sea, the earth is growing quieter and quieter. Khosa finds a possible way to save the people of Stille, but would they agree knowing that what is proposed has never been done...
  • Stephie
    Jul 01, 2018
    I preferred this book so much more over the first one. Dara's storyline was way more interesting than Khosa's this time around. I was actually shocked at one point, while a LOT of the book was super predictable, one point actually made me gasp out loud. ...
  • Natalie
    Sep 11, 2018
    The second in the Given Duet is miles better than the first, Given to the Sea, but that's not saying much. It seems Given to the Earth is the book McGinnis was aiming for. It was her end goal for her characters, and the story she really wanted to tell. Unfortunately, I don't think many...
  • Kels Fidler
    Feb 09, 2018
    Title: Given to the Earth Author: Mindy McGinnis Age Group: Teen/Young Adult Genre: Fantasy Series: Given to the Sea, book two Star Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars The author gave me an advance reader copy of this book at a library visit in August?she even signed it fo...
  • Cassie
    Apr 06, 2018
    Given to the Earth follows a few months after the captivating ending of Given to the Sea. Also, told in multiple points-of-view like its fantasy duo, this book focuses on how Khosa?s thought-to-be tragic sacrifice to the sea has now turned into a chance to live and be queen. But with...
  • Nat
    Sep 27, 2018
    I think the author did a great job regarding all the lose ends and keeping track with everyone. I'm a sucker for " everyone gets to be happy in the end" aaand this book aint like that. Entertaining read though. ...
  • Trina (Between Chapters)
    Oct 16, 2018
    Good and brutal ending. Some things I didn't enjoy in book 1 were either absent or much less in this book. I really like Mindy's worldbuilding, especially the language. The curse words the characters use all reflect their world - it's a world where the ocean is threatening to swallow t...
  • Lekeisha The Booknerd
    May 12, 2018
    Well, I wasn't expecting to like this more than its predecessor, but it took away the dislike for that god awful love triangle! I am pleasantly surprised by whom is "given to the earth". It does make sense in the end. And I found myself liking Khosa more in this sequel. Together, the...
  • Kaka_shi
    May 06, 2018
    For me? The way i know i loved a series is when i want more. So even though im unhappy and gosh darn pissed ? about more then a few events in this last book. Ultimately... i confess im head over feet in love. ? i think what it really is. Is the writing? Nothings repetitive. ...
  • Cinnamon
    Aug 14, 2018
    This series is absolutely wonderful. ...
  • Alyssa
    Feb 04, 2018
    3.5 Stars. A huge thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher for a DRC in exchange for an honest review. ...
  • Caro Herrera
    Jan 04, 2018
    This actually a high 3.5 for me. So... 3.6, I guess? The story started out slow and I was a little bored at first. I kind of felt the same way about the first book, though. However, the ending really picked up and tore my heart out. Also- I'm going to need more information in this ep...
  • Garrett Olinde
    May 13, 2018
    Too many major improbabilities in one character's storyline. Otherwise 4 stars. ...
  • Cari
    Aug 10, 2018
    4.5 This was an incredible, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting story. I just couldn't put it down. It felt like an epic conclusion. All the lore, the history, the fears and longing of these characters...each decision ever made bringing them to a final moment. The author made...
  • Lisa
    Aug 09, 2018
    2.5 stars. The last 50 or so made me up the rating with half a star. The rest of the book I just didn't really care much for, unfortunately. ...
  • Abby Pechin
    Apr 20, 2018
    Although this book took me a while to get into at first, I was not disappointed! About halfway through I didn't want to put it down! I hope she makes a third book to this series but the ending was sufficient. ...
  • Nina  van der Kooij
    Apr 20, 2018
    This book had such a sad ending, which I won't talk about too much to avoid spoilers. What I liked: The great and varying cast of characters, with many people on different sides of a conflict where neither party is right or wrong. There were two characters I absolutely didn't expect ...
  • Maricel
    Aug 22, 2018
    Bored to death reading this book and skipped 60% just so i can finish and be done with it. The only thing I liked in this book was Vincent, who is a good friend, loyal brother, martyr husband and responsible king. (view spoiler)[ Khosa is a spineless woman who is resigned to be a sac...
  • Sara Codair
    Aug 28, 2018
    Given to the Earth is a continuation of the events in Given to the Earth. I?ll refrain from describing the plot in this review because I?m not sure I can do so without spoilers or copying too much for the blurb. On the sentence level, the writing was lovely. I never had trouble...
  • Jenny Jo Weir
    Jun 01, 2018
    Ah Mindy. How you screw with my head and heart! Seriously, this woman is a beast at writing. I have nothing but respect for her and her talent (I?m also a little bit scared of her). Oh Dara and Donil. Sweet Vincent?and Witt. Even Ank and Khosa. Every time anything Dara came...
  • Megan
    Apr 10, 2018
    I hated how this ended. I hated how the stupid romance came together.. if you can even call it that. I finished this early this morning and I have had time to calm down but still hate it. Im just not upset enough to rant out a review. ...
  • Annika
    Aug 19, 2018
    It was really good, but in a weird sort of way. There was some really unexpected stuff that did some awesome stuff to the plot (to be really vague about it). I listened to an audio version of it, and I think it sucked me into the story even more. ...
  • Toni
    Jun 26, 2018
    This series is so thoughtful and beautiful and also thoroughly fucked me up. Thank you, Mindy, for these wonderful characters, but also for destroying me? I will never be able to forget them. They mean too much. Cool. I?m gonna go cry some more now! ...
  • Beccy
    Apr 20, 2018
    True rating; an incalculable amount of negative stars, whose collapse would cause enough supermassive black holes that the universe would cease to exist At some points this book is actually offensive - there are a colony of rejects who are completely stigmatized and ostracized, but ...
  • Galaxia Moon
    Jun 13, 2018
    The ending sucks. Okay, the way to kill off a beloved character is not to have a secondary character who?s rarely named and has no thoughts stab them in the chest. Other than that, it?s a lovely book. A little dismal I guess you could say. These books are strange to me simp...
  • Michelle Vandal
    Jun 17, 2018
    Amazing conclusion to wonderful story. Since reading Given to the Sea, I anxiously awaited this story. I was pulled in from the beginning and did not want to stop reading but I needed sleep. The cast was large. Khosa & Vincent's story was beautifully told. As were the intertwinin...
  • Jenasa
    Aug 15, 2018
    OK BUT THIS IS HANDS DOWN MY FAVORITE BOOK AND I READ A LOT OF BOOKS EVERYTHING WITH DARA AND DONIL DYING TOGETHER AND KHOSA HAVING DONILS KID AND THE LAST INDIRI DYING WITH HER TANGATA CAT BESIDE HER AND VINCENT KILLING HIS MOTHER AND NOT KNOWING ABOUT IT AND DARA AND WITT GETTING MAR...
  • Jill Criswell
    Mar 31, 2018
    In Given to the Sea, readers were introduced to five tragic characters. Vincent, the reluctant heir to the throne of Stille. Khosa, a young woman raised to be sacrificed. Indiri twins Donil and Dara, the last of their race. And Witt, the leader of the Pietra, a young man who must prete...