All's Faire in Middle School

All's Faire in Middle School

The author of Roller Girl is back with a graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing family, and the Renaissance Faire. Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she's eager to begin her own training as a squire. First, though, she'll need to prove her bravery. Luckily Impy has just the qu The author of Roller Girl is back with a graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing fami...

DownloadRead Online
Title:All's Faire in Middle School
Author:Victoria Jamieson
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:All's Faire in Middle School
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:248 pages pages

All's Faire in Middle School Reviews

  • Sarah Hannah
    Jan 20, 2018
    I didn't love this as much as Roller Girl in the reading experience, but I do think it's a really brilliantly rendered portrait of middle school. It doesn't shy away from showing how truly mean tweens can be to each other, rather than melodramatic and/or comical meanness you see in a l...
  • Abby Johnson
    Jun 30, 2017
    Okay, I loved ROLLER GIRL, but this one is even better. Victoria Jamieson presents a story about navigating middle school but with a twist. Imogene's grown up with her Renaissance Faire family. Every summer since she can remember, she's worked at her parents' shoppe and this year s...
  • Dov Zeller
    Oct 11, 2018
    Note: Some spoilers in here. In some ways All's Faire in Middle School closely resembles a lot of other middle school stories: -The protagonist is new in school, in this case new TO school, and she doesn't have any friends, doesn't know how to "fit in." -She finds herself taken...
  • Vanessa
    Sep 25, 2018
    Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl was one of the best graphic novels I read this year. It's one of the best graphic novels I?ve read ever. So it was natural I'd look for more of her work. I liked this story, but it's NO Roller Girl. Imogene has been home-schooled through the 5th...
  • Shenwei
    Aug 12, 2017
    this was a lot of fun to read. it shows the ways peer pressure and the desire to fit in can lead you astray and how to cope with being socially isolated, make up for mistakes/hurting others, and be true to yourself ...
  • Adam
    Sep 30, 2017
    The Renaissance Faire graphic novel you've been waiting for. ...
  • Raina
    Nov 13, 2018
    Life is all about niches. Subcultures. Communities. Living in 2018, I'm struck by how tunnel-visiony everyones lives are on a daily basis. Imogene is part of the reinactment/RenFaire community. She's also homeschooled, which can be a subcultural experience itself. But this year, she...
  • Mr. Steve
    Oct 09, 2017
    Victoria Jamieson has another winner! Kids can't get enough of these colorful and thoughtful graphic novels, so keep them coming. ...
  • Shauna Yusko
    Aug 24, 2017
    Perfection in a book. Dare I say better than Roller Girl??? ...
  • Ms. Yingling
    May 29, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the Treeline Imogene (Impy) lives with her family in a run down apartment, and has been homeschooled for years, because her mother and father both work at the local Renaissance Fair. With middle school approaching, Impy has decided that she wants to go to ...
  • Brittany
    Sep 12, 2017
    I absolutely adored Imogene. She makes a lot of big mistakes, but she learns from them too. Regardless of whether or not you've ever been homeschooled, I think her middle school experience rings true and every middle schooler is going to identify with at least one aspect of it. The ren...
  • Mary
    Jun 27, 2017
    This is an impossible-to-put down graphic novel about a Renaissance Faire knight-in-training homeschooler, Imogene (Impy), who is starting public school for the first time. Impy's family life is socially and economically tied to the local Renaissance Faire so she has grown up in an unc...
  • La Coccinelle
    Sep 16, 2018
    Near the end of last year, I read the delightful Roller Girl. It was the best graphic novel I'd read all year (or, ever, at that point, since I was fairly new to the format). So when I saw that the author had a new book out, I was eager to have a look. Maybe it's because my expectation...
  • Ellen
    Sep 19, 2017
    Full color graphic novel, friendship, homeschooling, new school, sexuality, growing up, socioeconomic differences, popularity, good vs. evil, racism, mixed race Will definitely be a hit with Telgemeier/Jamieson fans, but I felt that she tried to tackle too many issues (see above) an...
  • Katy Vance
    Sep 14, 2018
    That was so lovely! Take aways: 1. You?re not the center of the universe. 2. Sometimes when you think you?re the knight, you?re actually the dragon. 3. It?s nice to be nice. To everyone. Great book. ...
  • Xueting
    May 01, 2018
    I LOVED Victoria Jamieson?s previous graphic novel, ?Rollergirl,? so I was super excited to read this one. It did not disappoint. It?s more than your standard fare of a new girl who struggles to fit in at middle school. The renaissance faire stuff fit in very naturally and mean...
  • steph
    Nov 05, 2017
    3.5 stars Cute book. Pretty sub-standard middle school plot line - new girl, having a hard time fitting in, mean girls etc., but with the addition of the Renaissance fair setting (Impy's parents and their fellow actors were so well done). The illustrations were great though, I reall...
  • Amy
    Jun 06, 2018
    Another book that I would have loved as a kid but my old lady (36 years old) curmudgeonly brain can't get over the familiar tropes and YA angst. Highly recommend to the middle grade/YA crowd. Tentative recommend to the old lady crowd. ...
  • Megan
    Jun 14, 2017
    As a 25-year-old reading this book, I'm like a.) where can I sign up to be Impy's best friend and b.) really surprised by how much I relate to Impy's "I love the Renaissance Faire so much and that's a super nerdy hobby but how do I tell people?" conundrum. 11/10, will definitely read a...
  • Jen
    Jun 06, 2019
    This was so good! I loved the contrast of the place so foreign to so many of us being home to her, and the familiar school being so foreign to her...highlighting the fact that middle school makes everyone feel out of place. I felt her loneliness as a parent, though, and am trying to fi...
  • Lauren
    Jan 25, 2018
    Great readalike for Raina Telgemeier, Roller Girl, Dork Diaries, kids who liked Beverly Cleary when they were younger. Realistic story about family, friendship, and the middle school (*shudder*), but has a small doorway for historical fantasy/game nerd kids (and adults) through the Ren...
  • Lata
    May 08, 2019
    Imogene and her family work at a Renaissance fair every year, and it's a huge part of Imogene's life. She's helped her mother for some years in her shop, and knows all the actors at the faire. This year, Imogene will become a squire, and will be able to properly look the part while che...
  • Lola
    Aug 23, 2017
    A new graphic novel by the author of ROLLER GIRL! How happy I was to receive this book in the mail. ROLLER GIRL was emotional, realistic and engrossing. I couldn?t put it down. ALL?S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL is very different. For starters, it?s about a girl whose parents work ...
  • Amber
    Oct 03, 2018
    Imogene is training to be a knight at the Florida Renaissance Faire but when she decides to go to middle school, will she be able to survive this new environment? Read on and find out for yourself. This was a pretty good graphic novel and the art was awesome. Definitely check this b...
  • Sam (she_who_reads_)
    Jun 05, 2019
    Possibly my new favourite middle grade graphic novel! This follows Imogene, whose family works at the Renaissance Faire, as she starts middle school after being homeschooled her whole life. Imogene has to navigate a whole host of challenges that come with a new school, new experiences,...
  • Emma
    Jan 15, 2018
    It was fun to learn about the niche culture of renaissance fairs, but this is basically a recycled plot just like thousands of other middle school coming of age novels: innocent girl goes to middle school, tries to fit in, joins with the wrong clique/mean girls crowd, bullying and gene...
  • Jenna
    Jan 14, 2019
    I mean, if you (like me) had the initial reaction of, Hey! A colorful and whimsical graphic novel about a middle school girl?s coming of age? while she and her family work at a Renaissance Faire for a living?? That sounds intriguing! - then yes, of course you are correct and you shou...
  • Kiera
    May 10, 2018
    Great read, really fast and realistic. I love how the author described middle school and how imogene tried everything and discovered it is much cooler to be yourself than someone else a valuable lesson for all girls and boys of any age loved it! 3.5 stars ...
  • Sophia
    Jan 26, 2018
    This is an awesome book!! ...
  • Teresa Grabs
    Jan 28, 2019
    Fantastic quick graphic novel of life at a Renaissance fair and Impy's first time at school - Middle School. Life is full of ups and downs and it takes a lot of bumps and bruises before Impy finds her place as a paid member of the Faire and student. There are a lot of great life lesson...