The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test ? middle school! Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activ Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her g...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author:Stacy McAnulty
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
ISBN:1524767573
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:304 pages pages

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Reviews

  • Laura Gardner
    Jul 28, 2018
    ????? super glowy stars for LIGHTNING GIRL by @stacymcanulty; thank you to everyone who told me to read this right away! . ? ? If you are looking for a book in which to ?completely? lose yourself, read in just a few hours and then hug tightly to your chest ...
  • Betsy
    Apr 16, 2018
    The world would have us believe that the left brained and right brained amongst us can never see eye-to-eye. Think about it. How many times have you heard a perfectly intelligent person say with a shrug, ?I?m bad at math?? This is considered acceptable behavior amongst the litera...
  • Mary Lee
    Jul 22, 2018
    I wish this book had been there for my middle school me. No, I'm not a math savant, but like just about everyone else in the universe, I felt like I didn't fit in. News flash -- hardly anyone does. Great story of friends and family and a great math teacher (bummer that the LA teach...
  • Tony
    May 09, 2018
    THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL. (2018). Stacy McAnulty. ***. This is a Young Adult (YA) novel that tells the story of a young girl whose life was changed after being struck by lightning. The electric jolt did something to her brain that transformed her into a math whizz. After ...
  • Jenn
    Jul 10, 2018
    There are some serious plot holes in this book. For example, just because you are a math genius, does not mean you are a genius in other fields. Lucy even admits that she is not great in language arts. However, she somehow got a perfect score on her SAT?!?!? I guess McAnulty does not k...
  • Yukari Watanabe
    Nov 07, 2018
    I love the book! I was not a math genius, but I was a bit like Lucy at elementary school. I also had an intense love & hate relationship with my schools. This novel reminded me those days. 12 year old me would've liked this book very much. ...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Mar 29, 2018
    E ARC from Netgalley Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy has been homeschooled, but her grandmother decides that it is time for Lucy to acquire the social skills that middle school will provide. Why?...
  • Jo Sorrell
    Oct 03, 2018
    Lucy can?t remember the moment when lightning struck her four years ago, but now the 12-year-old is a numbers savant. Her favorite is pi, and she can recite the digits to the 314th decimal place. The doctors call her condition acquired savant syndrome. To Lucy she?s a reclusive gen...
  • Nicole Hewitt
    May 03, 2018
    4.5/5 Stars This book was a breath of fresh air, with a uniquely intelligent MC who we can truly root for! What Fed My Addiction: A mathematical mind. When Lucy was struck by lightning, she woke up with genius-level mathematical skills: acquired savant syndrome is the techni...
  • Lisa
    May 04, 2018
    Lucy was struck by lightning when she was eight and, due to the damage to her brain, became a mathematical genius. She has been homeschooled, but her grandmother insists that Lucy go to public school so she can try something new and make a friend. Lucy, who'd rather take college classe...
  • Patrick
    Jun 28, 2018
    Important story especially for young people dealing with OCD... ...
  • Michele Knott
    Apr 21, 2018
    Absolutely loved this one. I fell in love with Lucy and appreciated the challenges in her life in this very realistic middle grade novel. ...
  • MissBecka
    Jun 08, 2018
    Thank you Lola for recommending such a cool book! Well that was a pleasant surprise! Our main character, Lucy, was struck by lightning when she was younger and as a result has become a math wizard who has a case of OCD to go with it. As someone with a mild case of OCD it was refr...
  • Maria Waltner
    Apr 25, 2018
    Middle grade to junior high level. Lucy aka Lightning Girl is anything but normal since she got struck by a bolt of lightning when she was 8. Now Lucy's brain has been rewired for math - along with a few other quirks. Because of her mathematical abilities Lucy has been homeschooled...
  • ☘Misericordia☘ ~ The Serendipity Aegis ~  ⚡ϟ⚡ϟ⚡⛈ ✺❂❤❣
    Nov 13, 2018
    Acquired number synesthesia made easy. A fun reading for kids. Q: I?m a reclusive genius. (c) Q: Life is like an equation, and mine is perfectly balanced. Nana + Uncle Paul + Math = Happiness. Other people might need to add in friends or sports or money or something else, but...
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    Jun 10, 2018
    Mini review: DNF GR Ultimate Summer Reading Challenge: Beach Bum. This was recommended to me by Lola! Click on her name to read her review! I was really looking forward to reading this! I didn't hesitate to put it on hold when I saw that it was in my library. Unfortunately i...
  • Joy Smith
    Apr 02, 2018
    Changing schools can be hard, but Lucy hasn't been to school for years so starting fresh with students, teachers, and classes is challenging--and her compulsive behavior makes her completely strange--even freakish, but she perseveres with her Nana's encouragement and determined nudges....
  • Kate Olson
    Apr 15, 2018
    Thanks to the author for sharing this review copy with Kid Lit Exchange! What a heartwarming and unique middle school story! I loved reading about Lucy and her savant brain as she navigated the challenges of middle school, challenges that are daunting even for the most school-savvy ...
  • Lola
    May 03, 2018
    This beautiful book is so under the radar that, out of the 700 magnificent friends that I have on here, only four have added it to their to-read list. And none have read it. I am not mad ? I would never force someone to read a book (too forcefully) ? but I am a little disappo...
  • Cyn (semi-hiatus)
    May 06, 2018
    Pros ? easy reading, short chapters ? plenty of character interactions ? ARITHMETIC! Math was my favorite subject in grade school. Math homework was my favorite homework to work on. I'd even do extra math problems in my free time, for fun :) ? "This is actually a hard ans...
  • Afoma Umesi
    Jun 13, 2018
    Oh, dear Lucy. I enjoyed this book so much, which says a lot for a Math hater! Lucy acquires savant Level Math skills after being struck by lightning as a child. She also becomes obsessive-compulsive and reclusive after the incident. So her grandmother insists she goes to middle sc...
  • Susan Bazzett-Griffith
    Sep 20, 2018
    This was a book I'd picked out for my son, who upon finishing it, handed it to me and said, "Mom, you will really like this book and need to read it now!" so I slipped it to the bottom of my own library books and then grabbed it when I wanted something quick and easy to read on an afte...
  • Julie Kirchner
    Apr 02, 2018
    This was a #bookaday for me! Wow! What a fantastic middle grade novel by Stacy McAnulty. I received a copy of the ARC as a part of my #BookVoyage book club. Lucy is a savant with OCD. She wasn?t born this way. A lightening strike to a fence she was holding at the age of eight chan...
  • Joelle
    Apr 18, 2018
    I loved Lucy?s story and how completely relatable it was! Anyone who?s ever felt ?different? can connect with the protagonist. I found the characters and their stories to be compelling, endearing, educational, and inspirational. I will highly recommend this book to my students!...
  • Julian
    Apr 08, 2018
    OUT MAY 1st MARK YOUR CALENDARS Going through middle school can be hard enough as it is, but Lucy Callahan is going to have to face an even bigger challenge. After being struck by lightning at a young age, Lucy now has genius-level math skills, but that's not everything she has to d...
  • Violet
    Jul 12, 2018
    Gosh, darn it, Pi. A LITTLE BACKSTORY BETWEEN ME AND TMOLG: Think me, just surfing the internet about upcoming releases on books, seeing if I can find a sample for THE PERFECT SECRET (CLUE: it does exist) when I stumble upon THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL. I look at it, and ...
  • Janet Slipak
    Apr 09, 2018
    Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can?t solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn?t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her ge...
  • Taniksha
    May 03, 2018
    Recommended by: Lola Reviewer ...
  • Tucker (The Library Reader)
    May 27, 2018
    Never has a book touched me so. Lucy Callaghan was struck by lightning and got extraordinary math powers. Honestly, at first this book was uninteresting. I couldn't get into it. But I kept trying. What the beginning lacked in excitingness the End had. It was such a wonderful ...
  • Georgia Reed
    Sep 18, 2018
    I love this book so much because it has math in it and I love math ! ...