The Library at the Edge of the World (Finfarran #1)

The Library at the Edge of the World (Finfarran #1)

A warm, feel-good novel about the importance of finding a place where you belong - perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Local librarian Hanna Casey is wondering where it all went wrong ... Driving her mobile library van through Finfarran's farms and villages, she tries not to think of the sophisticated London life she abandoned when she left her cheating husband. Or that she's A warm, feel-good novel about the importance of finding a place where you belong - perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Library at the Edge of the World (Finfarran #1)
Author:Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Rating:
Genres:Fiction
ISBN:The Library at the Edge of the World
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Unknown Binding
Number of Pages:339 pages pages

The Library at the Edge of the World (Finfarran #1) Reviews

  • Laurie
    Oct 30, 2017
    This was a bit hard to get into and rather slow-going at times; a lot of characters to keep track of and not all of them were fun to spend time with. I was especially annoyed that the main character, a trained librarian, was opposed to providing her community with the most basic of lib...
  • John
    Jan 31, 2018
    Recently Hannah Casey has questioned her decision of leaving London and her adulterous husband and returning to her childhood home on the fictional beautiful Finfarran peninsula with her testy mother. Now that she employed as the local librarian, she hopes to renovate and move into an ...
  • Tracy
    Jun 25, 2017
    4.5 stars When I was a student 20 years ago I went to Ireland and subsequently became obsessed with All Things Irish. As an avid reader my reading choices were also influenced, and I read everything I could find by Marian Keyes and Maeve Binchy (20 years ago chick lit was HUGE). Fast...
  • Jerrie (redwritinghood)
    Dec 27, 2017
    This was a cute, heartwarming story about a community trying to save its local library and the characters involved. Gets bonus points for multiple references to one of my favorite authors, Saki. ...
  • Stephanie
    Mar 11, 2018
    It was a bit predictable, but I didn't mind. Especially when was as warm as a knitted throw around your shoulders. The characters were familiar to me, and well developed. I found myself commiserating with them. This was time well spent. ...
  • Christina (Confessions of a Book Addict)
    May 30, 2017
    Hanna Casey is a librarian on Ireland's remote southwestern coast and has returned home after living for some time in England. You see her husband has cheated on her, so she has returned home to start her life over in Ireland. Hanna isn't your regular librarian though. She drives the l...
  • Mary
    Dec 31, 2017
    I picked up this book because it had a book on the cover, it had Library in the title and the description mentioned Ireland - how could I resist? And I'm glad I didn't. Hanna is the head librarian living in a little village on the West Coast of Ireland. She's divorced from a slime w...
  • Mrs. Tongate
    Jan 20, 2018
    I'm always a sucker for a librarian or a bookstore read. After reading, I now just want to live in Ireland, have goats, and a house on a cliff with ocean view. Since I'm not headed to Ireland, I guess Kentucky Soaps and Such in Stanford, Ky. will have to do with their goat milk product...
  • Patty Shlonsky
    Apr 03, 2018
    ?She told herself that a letter was nothing but words on paper. But a librarian should know better than anyone how written words, moving through time and space, could change a person?s life.? After the end of a lengthy marriage and many years living a sophisticated life in Lon...
  • Shorty
    Feb 04, 2018
    A quick, easy summer read. ...
  • Mike
    Aug 21, 2017
    After separating from her husband, Hanna Casey returns to her mother's home in Ireland and soon finds herself in the middle of a battle to save her rural hometown. A pleasant story about a town coming together and the ragtag locals who stand up to 'city hall'. Unfortunately none of...
  • Deyanne
    Feb 28, 2018
    This is a strong testimonial to the importance of place and especially home. Obviously the author loves Ireland and that love permeates the novel. While the story was shallow and predictable, the charm for me came in the descriptions of nature. It was nice to be transported away to ...
  • Dale Harcombe
    Aug 18, 2017
    Who could resist a book with the title of a library at the edge of the world? Not me. The story revolves around Hanna Casey. After separating from her cheating husband, Hanna, in her early fifties, ends up living with her mother on the outskirts of a town in Ireland where she grew up. ...
  • Susan Johnson
    Aug 04, 2018
    My best advice on this book is too stick to it even though you might want to put it aside at first. Hanna is unlikable at the beginning. She is starting over after she discovers her husband in her bed with a friend of hers. She leaves London in a huff without getting any money from he...
  • Becky
    Jan 10, 2018
    I once read that the greatest compliment a reviewer can give a book is that they feel they have ?stepped into? the book. If that?s true, I now live in Ireland! ...
  • Cherie
    Aug 03, 2018
    It ended the same way it started, in an old house overlooking the sea. I enjoyed the cast of characters and the story line was very interesting. Emma Lowe was the narrator of the story. Well done! ...
  • Shannon
    Feb 28, 2018
    Fans of Maeve Binchy and Patrick Taylor, rejoice! There's a new Irish author in print and she's taken the best of both these others and added some style and depth of her own to create a really interesting, authentic read. Divorcee Hanna Casey is the head librarian back in her old home...
  • Madeleine (Top Shelf Text)
    Jan 16, 2018
    Note: Top Shelf Text received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own! I've been feeling stuck when browsing my shelves for my next read, so I've gravitated towards books that are more inside my reading comfort zone. The Libra...
  • Susanne
    Feb 21, 2018
    My new local bookshop (Whitelam Books) offered a "blind date with a book" table in February -- and serendipity was clearly at work because the brown bag I purchased contained this novel about a librarian, set in Ireland! The story is set in the fictional "Finfarra Peninsula" in the rur...
  • Hannah (Lemonade Library)
    Dec 01, 2017
    Putting this one down early. I cannot stand the main character! I thought with us both being librarians I would really enjoy this but she seems to really hate her job! Perhaps it all changes in the end but I don?t care to find out. ...
  • Alva
    Aug 17, 2016
    This is a gorgeous Irish story about Hanna, Mary, Jazz, Fury and their supporting cast in fictional Finfarran. A sparkling tale of determination and goodness with a real sense of family and home. Wonderful storytelling by Felicity Hayes-McCoy who's working on a sequel and I for one can...
  • Christie
    Nov 27, 2017
    Not as good as Binchy and the main character had some inconsistencies that bothered me a bit, but this was still a feel-good story for when I was sick :) ...
  • Gaele
    Nov 14, 2017
    Some twenty-odd years earlier, Hanna Casey fled the oppressing and limiting Finfarran peninsula heading for London and dreams to work with art, maintaining library collections. But, a whirlwind romance and subsequent pregnancy led to a marriage. With the loss of that pregnancy and a de...
  • Desiree
    Oct 09, 2017
    It sure is a feel good book and I especially enjoyed the setting in a small town Ireland. It sounds like a lovely community. The ending is okay as all goes well, but I feel like there are some few loose ends that need to be tied. I guess there will be a sequel to this. I can?t seem t...
  • MsArdychan
    Nov 04, 2017
    Please note: I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not influence the opinions of my review in any way. I recently did a writing exercise in preparation for NaNoWriMo where we listed things we like to see in books. Mine included a small to...
  • Kate Olson
    Nov 12, 2017
    Oh, what an absolutely wonderful book for every book lover on earth! I adored this story of a public library, a woman starting over, family, friends and community set in rural Ireland. The setting is fabulous, the people make my heart happy and the storyline of a librarian saving a lib...
  • Pamela
    Feb 01, 2018
    Delightful read with many endearing moments. I found the characters nicely rounded and the dialogue fully believable. There is so much growth in the main character and the community overall, from the story's onset to its conclusion, it made for a satisfying, believable tale. And of c...
  • Kim
    Jun 18, 2017
    Such an enjoyable read. I really loved meeting all of the characters in this book and wish the author would write more about the inhabitants of this lovely Irish town (and surrounding area). My favorite was Fury O'Shea what a name! All in all a great relaxing book that would make a...
  • Karina
    May 18, 2018
    Brought book on vacation thinking it would be a good poolside book. The title, set in Ireland did nothing for me. Was too slow, repetitive, and would not get to the point! I love Maeve Binchy books. Did not remind me of her. The characters hardly interacted enough for me to appreciate ...
  • Amy
    Jun 06, 2018
    I have mixed feelings about this book. The writing was well done, but there was very little storyline until the end. Most of the book was about the history of the location and the characters, and a lot of it was very unnecessary to the story. The ending was a bit disappointing, because...