Doing Harm: The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick

Doing Harm: The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick

In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today?leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women?s lives and well-being. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and soci In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial direc...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Doing Harm: The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick
Author:Maya Dusenbery
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:0062470809
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:400 pages pages

Doing Harm: The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick Reviews

  • Melissa
    Feb 24, 2018
    A deep dive into decades-long practices in science and medicine that disadvantage women from the word go. Bad science, prejudicial and paternalistic attitudes by physicians and other care providers, and a persistent belief that women?s self-reported symptoms are not to be trusted. Du...
  • Sandy Reilly
    May 10, 2018
    Maya Dusenbery has pulled back the curtain and opened readers' eyes to what it's like to be a woman with an illness. Often ignored, labeled "hysterical" or a hypochondriac, and told we're not as sick as we think we are, many women walk into their doctors' offices with the odds stacked ...
  • Mickey
    Apr 21, 2018
    I want to take this book to my next doctor's appointment, smack him upside the head with it, and then stand there and read the whole damn thing out loud to him! It was infuriating and maddening to read, but it helped me to feel better that I'm not the only woman who is fighting the med...
  • anaïs
    Mar 17, 2018
    important and timely. should be read by all medical professionals. ...
  • Maya
    May 20, 2018
    "When it comes to 'active' life expectancy - the number of years living free from significant limitations that prevent you from doing everyday tasks - men have overtaken women in the past three decades. Women still live longer, but men live better longer." (20) "The medical communit...
  • Thalarctos
    May 16, 2018
    This book needs to be read by all doctors. I am definitely going to be more assertive in my own medical care needs. ...
  • Coral Rose
    May 08, 2018
    Good book, lots of facts and studies. This book was so depressingly true. Lots of facts and studies, and really highlighted for me some of the reasons that my husband and I approach care providers differently. When I was 6 months pregnant with Miles, I asked for a referral to endocr...
  • (a)lyss(a)
    Mar 25, 2018
    "It's very difficult for a woman to present in a doctor's office. Because if she's very stoic - if she talks about the problem in the tone that I'm talking to you - then the doctor's going to think 'Oh, there's nothing really wrong with her' And then if she gets very emotional, he's go...
  • Carolyn
    Mar 31, 2018
    Wow! Everyone should read this book - well researched, important, and shocking. ...
  • Heidi
    May 05, 2018
    This is a good book that contains a lot of well-researched truth. The studies the authors cites are well documented - and there are a lot of them. Like a lot of non-fiction books, I think it could have been shorter. The author did repeat herself and her points quite a bit. That being s...
  • Angie Drake
    May 20, 2018
    Important information that needs to be read by the medical community I wish so could say that the information in this book surprised me but, for the most part, I felt like I was reading my own experience over and over again. The author did a good job tying research to personal stori...
  • Linda
    Sep 26, 2017
    The author discusses how women?s health concerns, especially illnesses which primarily affect females, such as CFS, POTS, and fibromyalgia, are often dismissed as psychosomatic. Better medical education and research directed towards many of these illnesses would help, but our society...
  • Tara
    Apr 13, 2018
    Wow. Everyone who has a uterus or loves someone who does should read this book. So, pretty much everybody should read this book. Knowledge is power, folks. ;o) It's a revealing and discouraging read, but also one that implores women to listen to their bodies and trust themselves. Be...
  • Terri Ehrlich
    Mar 24, 2018
    Wow! Every woman should read this book. This author has done her homework, and recounts the discrimination and negligence on the part of both medical researchers and practitioners when it comes to illnesses that affect mostly women. Although parts of this book made me downright angry, ...
  • Kitty Galore
    Apr 17, 2018
    The MeToo movement has highlighted sexist practices in America today. Thoughts about this is that women knew about it long before the press got hold of it. In general why do women allow these things to happen in the first place? What have we been thinking over the Millenia? Were we thi...
  • Alex Strick van Linschoten
    Mar 12, 2018
    Important and timely. Dusenbery has hit the nail on the head with this book. I highlighted so many passages. She reveals how -- at almost every turn -- women are rendered dismissed, ignored and invisible by the medical system. ...
  • Melissa
    May 20, 2018
    Forthcoming. If you?re going into/already in science or medicine OR if you support feminism (hopefully everyone), this book is an important siren call for bias awareness. ...
  • Kathleen O'Neal
    May 09, 2018
    This was the most accurate portrayal of what it is like to be a young woman trying to get help in the American medical system that I have ever come across in any sort of media. What I loved about this book was that the author is hip to the reality that self-diagnosis and internet rese...
  • Rachel
    Apr 09, 2018
    I read over 200 pages loving this book and ready to give it 5 Stars and finish it. Then the author very offhandedly suggests that having migraines is similar in pain level to being a tortured POW in Vietnam. Lol wut. ...
  • DW
    May 05, 2018
    Much of the book focuses on anecdotes of doctors dismissing womens' symptoms simply because the patients are women. "Before [the twentieth century], doctors had no choice but to take patients at their word about what they were experiencing in their bodies." p 69 However, "I spoke to a ...
  • Ashlee
    May 17, 2018
    This is a highly important book to read for women. You will learn the history behind why that one interaction with the doctor happened. You will hear about other women who have been dismissed by their doctors. You will pray that you never have a serious condition that gets swept away a...
  • Randi
    May 10, 2018
    It didn't offer much that was new or groundbreaking for me, but it's worth still reading through. ...
  • Kap
    May 02, 2018
    So important and powerful. ...
  • Pam
    Apr 11, 2018
    Important and heartbreaking. The lengths to which a woman must advocate for her own care is ridiculous. Every health provider needs to read this book, even if they think they treat all patients the same (because guess what - they probably don?t). ...
  • Marianne K
    Apr 15, 2018
    A repetitive look at gender-bias in the doctor/ patient relationship. Having experienced this firsthand, I certainly agreed with the premise. I almost bailed in the introduction as the author had so many liberal views that I do not subscribe to, "... nature is a lot more diverse than t...
  • Kira Brighton
    Apr 08, 2018
    As a woman with multiple female-dominant medical conditions (most of which were discussed in this book), I'm thrilled this book exists. It's vital that we have this modern examination of sexism in the medical industry. Some of what's in this book I already knew, from prior research and...
  • Wendy
    Apr 12, 2018
    "Women's symptoms are not taken seriously because medicine doesn't know as much about their bodies and health problems. And medicine doesn't know as much about their bodies and health problems because it doesn't take their symptoms seriously." If you are a woman, have a body and go ...
  • Alyssa Foll
    Mar 20, 2018
    This was an eye-opening read about how poorly women are treated in the medical system. Maya Dusenbery examines multiple factors for why medicine tends to be sexist and paternalistic in its care of women, but she also shares countless stories of women who advocated for themselves and fo...
  • Eugen
    Mar 31, 2018
    Should be required reading. Breathtaking from the first to last page. ...
  • Julia McDaniel
    Apr 14, 2018
    An absolute must read. ...