Be Prepared

Be Prepared

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost. All Vera wants to do is fit in?but that?s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera?s single mother can?t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price ran A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost. All Vera wants t...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Be Prepared
Author:Vera Brosgol
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:162672444X
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Be Prepared Reviews

  • Abby Johnson
    May 15, 2018
    Almost-10-year-old Vera is on the outside a lot. Although she gets invited to slumber parties with the other girls, she's never really part of the in-crowd. And when she tries to throw her own birthday slumber party, things go horribly awry. Vera always feels different than the other k...
  • Jessica
    May 25, 2018
    Wonderful! Think Shannon Hale's REAL FRIENDS, but set at summer camp! I love Brosgol's art (she did one of my top books from last year: LEAVE ME ALONE!), and the true(ish) story of her trying to fit in and make friends, at home and at camp, was funny and heartbreaking in turns. I can't...
  • Lindsay
    Feb 10, 2018
    There is a special circle of Hell in childhood designated to summer camp, at least for some of us, and this newest from Brosgol captures it perfectly. While I don't share the same experiences of being Russian in America, I certainly sympathized with the essence of her childhood--when y...
  • David Schaafsma
    May 09, 2018
    Vera Brosgol created Anya's Ghost, which I liked very much, so I looked forward to this tale, since summer camp was important to my early life, and is important to some present members of this house now, including one girl. I expect they may really like this story, which is very much b...
  • Andi
    Jul 22, 2018
    So stinking cute. I love Brosgol?s illustrations. ...
  • Dov Zeller
    Jun 04, 2018
    Things I like about this book: expressiveness of the art, style of the art Things I struggled with in this book: everything Somehow the narrative just doesn't come together in a way that I could make sense of. It was chaotic, distractingly episodic, worrisome, strange. Vera...
  • Melissa
    Mar 28, 2018
    Yep. I was that dork who didn?t know how to make friends at camp too. ...
  • G.
    Aug 04, 2018
    This one really surprised me. A book about a girl's experience at summer camp? Meh. Instead, Vera gives us a unique spin: a Russian immigrant child, unable to fit in with her American school and jealous of their summer camp experiences, goes to a Russian camp for Russian kids-- only to...
  • Emily
    May 09, 2018
    Unfortunately, the part where they chanted "tit head" at someone is going to make it far-less marketable in the community where I work. ...
  • DaNae
    Aug 02, 2018
    I think this suffered more from my indifference to yet another ostracized-girl story. Since every child feels on the outside much of the time, I'm confidant there will be lots of readers for it. I do think the crude jokes and pranks will make many of my upright students uncomfortable. ...
  • Julie Ehlers
    May 06, 2018
    Be Prepared is the second graphic novel I've read by Brosgol (the first was Anya's Ghost), and I liked this one much better. Based on the author's own experiences, this is an absorbing story of a girl who has trouble fitting in and wants nothing more than to go to summer camp, but when...
  • Erica
    Jul 30, 2018
    FYI: This story is not about a power-hungry, Machiavellian uncle who hangs out with hyenas. It's an autobiographical graphic novel about nine-year-old Vera's experiences at a Russian summer camp. Not a summer camp in Russia because those were outlawed last century but, rather, a cam...
  • Laura
    Apr 21, 2018
    When I was a child, I lived in a well-to-do neighborhood, and had well-to-do neighbors, and classmates. This was in the days when rich people still sent their kids to public schools. They were the kids, that in high school had their own cards, and went on ski trips, and to Summer camp ...
  • Derek Royal
    Sep 01, 2018
    A wonderfully fun coming-of-age story (kinda) set in a summer camp for kids of Russian descent. Brosgol narrates with preciseness the emotional contours suffering summer camp, the annoying kids who attend, and her own vacillating relationships with those surrounding her. The book start...
  • Peacegal
    Jul 16, 2018
    BE PREPARED is a great graphic memoir about one young girl's attempt to navigate the perils of life at age 9. Although some of the content is very specific to her growing up Russian-American, a lot of it is universally relatable. The passages about feeling "on the outside" among other ...
  • Chinook
    Aug 08, 2018
    I really liked this. A graphic novel about fitting in, making friends and trying new things. ...
  • Sam Quixote
    May 20, 2018
    Be prepared - for a middling childhood memoir comic! Vera Brosgol?s latest book is about her going to a Russian summer camp as a kid and having a bit of a tough time of it. But it?s not all bad and yadda yadda yadda, learning important lessons, etc. In her afterword she talks a...
  • Filipa
    Aug 21, 2018
    A história em si da banda desenhada não é nada de especial (por assim dizer) mas a arte de toda a história e a forma como foi contada foi muito engraçada e eu revivi situações que em criança vivenciei também. Também eu fui para acampamentos e também tive peripécias por l?...
  • Jenna
    Jul 07, 2018
    Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier?s Smile and Svetlana Chmakova?s Brave! I wasn?t sure what to expect from this graphic novel, and, as never been to camp, let alone a Russian Orthodox camp, it was all interesting to read about. The issues of bullying and exclusion that...
  • Alyssa
    Apr 22, 2018
    I was sent this book for review from Macmillan-First Second Reads. All thoughts and opinions are honest. I've read Anya's Ghost and I really enjoyed it. So, I knew very well that I wouldn't have a problem reading this. Vera is eight & nine-years old in this graphic memoir and d...
  • Aliza Werner
    Apr 29, 2018
    Love this autobiographical graphic novel of young Vera going to Russian camp. I was excited to have my 3rd graders grab it, but there a few parts that take this one up to a true middle grade read (name calling: "tit head", older campers caught making out, period-stained undies flying f...
  • Whitney Atkinson
    May 24, 2018
    I enjoyed this! This will be a short review just because the rating speaks for itself. I have nothing particularly outstanding to say about it, but there's also nothing terrible about it. It was entertaining, but it was just okay. Maybe get it from the library instead of buying it ...
  • Lola
    May 07, 2018
    Some stories? don't need to be told. First of all, although this is marketed as a graphic ??memoir,?? the author admits in her note that a lot of the some stuff in this book is made up, so? not true. Why would you even write a memoir if you?re not going to be compl...
  • Nat
    Apr 05, 2018
    Summer Camp, Russian Culture, and Belonging Having adored Anya?s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, I was keen on checking out her spin with this gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir. All Vera wants to do is fit in?but that?s not easy for a Russian girl in the s...
  • Rod Brown
    May 06, 2018
    With strong art and solid writing, this is a well-done addition to the coming-of-age summer camp subgenre. The Russian Orthodox background of the characters gives the book a unique flavor. I'd like to see a follow-up to the little cliffhanger at the end. ...
  • Meaghan Odell
    Aug 23, 2018
    This book was nearly identical to my own experience at a two week summer camp in Vermont. Love Vera?s true grit and resolve despite the many odds she faced. An important read for anyone who has felt like an outsider, but worked to make the best of a tough situation. There is one part...
  • Jay G
    May 07, 2018
    Want to see more from me? Check out my Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfer... Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of this in exchange for my honest review! Everyone Vera knows gets to go away to summer camp every year. All Vera wants is to be like...
  • emma
    May 04, 2018
    IF VERA BROSGOL DOESN'T HAVE THE CUTESTBEST ART STYLE IN THE WORLD, I SURE DO NOT KNOW WHO DOES. that's pretty much the standout part of this book in either direction. it's a classic indoors-kid-goes-to-camp-and-hates-it-and-everything-is-terrible-but-then-she-likes-it-because-she-m...
  • Julie Kirchner
    Apr 28, 2018
    I love graphic novels and how this format appeals to a wide range of students. This book will definitely be popular with students, but I did have some concerns about whether I feel comfortable promoting it with my elementary students. Vera Brosgol wrote this as a semi-autobiographi...
  • Jon(athan) Nakapalau
    Oct 27, 2018
    A wonderful 'camping story' told from the perspective of a young girl! Really enjoyed the way the story looked problems form multiple perspectives - a fantastic 'starting-fall' read! ...