Be Prepared

Be Prepared

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost. All Vera wants to do is fit in?but that?s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera?s single mother can?t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price ran A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost. All Vera wants t...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Be Prepared
Author:Vera Brosgol
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:162672444X
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Be Prepared Reviews

  • Abby Johnson
    May 15, 2018
    Almost-10-year-old Vera is on the outside a lot. Although she gets invited to slumber parties with the other girls, she's never really part of the in-crowd. And when she tries to throw her own birthday slumber party, things go horribly awry. Vera always feels different than the other k...
  • Jessica
    May 25, 2018
    Wonderful! Think Shannon Hale's REAL FRIENDS, but set at summer camp! I love Brosgol's art (she did one of my top books from last year: LEAVE ME ALONE!), and the true(ish) story of her trying to fit in and make friends, at home and at camp, was funny and heartbreaking in turns. I can't...
  • Lindsay
    Feb 10, 2018
    There is a special circle of Hell in childhood designated to summer camp, at least for some of us, and this newest from Brosgol captures it perfectly. While I don't share the same experiences of being Russian in America, I certainly sympathized with the essence of her childhood--when y...
  • David Schaafsma
    May 09, 2018
    Vera Brosgol created Anya's Ghost, which I liked very much, so I looked forward to this tale, since summer camp was important to my early life, and is important to some present members of this house now, including one girl. I expect they may really like this story, which is very much b...
  • Dov Zeller
    Jun 04, 2018
    Things I like about this book: expressiveness of the art, style of the art Things I struggled with in this book: everything Somehow the narrative just doesn't come together in a way that I could make sense of. It was chaotic, distractingly episodic, worrisome, strange. Vera...
  • Emily
    May 09, 2018
    Unfortunately, the part where they chanted "tit head" at someone is going to make it far-less marketable in the community where I work. ...
  • Vanessa (splitreads)
    Jun 17, 2018
    A cute story of a girl going to sleepaway "Russian" camp and feeling like she doesn't fit in. I really like Brosgol's illustrations. The story was short and enjoyable, but I thought it would be a little bit more profound at the end. (Also it had quite a bit of poop discussion/humor whi...
  • J.T.
    May 23, 2018
    This was for my 8 year old daughter, but I loved the artwork so much that I ended up reading it before I gave it to her. The drawings are fantastic, the story is equally great and Alec did a wonderful job on the coloring. This is an autobiographical story of a Russian girl who stru...
  • Julie Ehlers
    May 06, 2018
    Be Prepared is the second graphic novel I've read by Brosgol (the first was Anya's Ghost), and I liked this one much better. Based on the author's own experiences, this is an absorbing story of a girl who has trouble fitting in and wants nothing more than to go to summer camp, but when...
  • Edward Sullivan
    Feb 12, 2018
    A sweet, poignant, funny middle-grade summer camp graphic memoir . ...
  • Laura
    Apr 21, 2018
    When I was a child, I lived in a well-to-do neighborhood, and had well-to-do neighbors, and classmates. This was in the days when rich people still sent their kids to public schools. They were the kids, that in high school had their own cards, and went on ski trips, and to Summer camp ...
  • Brittany
    Jun 01, 2018
    This is an easy recommendation for those that can't get enough Raina Telgemeier, Shannon Hale or Jennifer L. Holm. What makes this book stand apart is its drawings and use of color - the shades of green and not much else made you feel like you were right there with Vera at camp in the ...
  • Darcy Roar
    Jun 08, 2018
    Such a good camp story. I love the realities of the kid's interpersonal relationships (people are mean but not generally the devil, making friends is difficult, even protagonists can be bullies some times, it's hard to learn to be self reliant, family lets you down sometimes, etc.) Not...
  • steph
    Jun 16, 2018
    A slow read (it follows a young girl at a Russian summer camp) but its cute. I enjoyed the artwork, the facial expressions were TERRIFIC and I really fell for Vera. Not my favorite middle school graphic novel but the first I've read that includes Russian culture, language and heritage ...
  • Sam Quixote
    May 20, 2018
    Be prepared - for a middling childhood memoir comic! Vera Brosgol?s latest book is about her going to a Russian summer camp as a kid and having a bit of a tough time of it. But it?s not all bad and yadda yadda yadda, learning important lessons, etc. In her afterword she talks a...
  • Jenna
    Jul 07, 2018
    Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier?s Smile and Svetlana Chmakova?s Brave! I wasn?t sure what to expect from this graphic novel, and, as never been to camp, let alone a Russian Orthodox camp, it was all interesting to read about. The issues of bullying and exclusion that...
  • Gabby
    Feb 23, 2018
    I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher, via my work, in order to give an honest review. Be Prepared reminds me of being the kid who couldn't go to camp because they were too poor to do so, in the best possible way though. Add to that she makes it so easy to rel...
  • Alyssa
    Apr 22, 2018
    I was sent this book for review from Macmillan-First Second Reads. All thoughts and opinions are honest. I've read Anya's Ghost and I really enjoyed it. So, I knew very well that I wouldn't have a problem reading this. Vera is eight & nine-years old in this graphic memoir and d...
  • Aliza Werner
    Apr 29, 2018
    Love this autobiographical graphic novel of young Vera going to Russian camp. I was excited to have my 3rd graders grab it, but there a few parts that take this one up to a true middle grade read (name calling: "tit head", older campers caught making out, period-stained undies flying f...
  • Whitney Atkinson
    May 24, 2018
    I enjoyed this! This will be a short review just because the rating speaks for itself. I have nothing particularly outstanding to say about it, but there's also nothing terrible about it. It was entertaining, but it was just okay. Maybe get it from the library instead of buying it ...
  • Lola
    May 07, 2018
    Some stories? don't need to be told. First of all, although this is marketed as a graphic ??memoir,?? the author admits in her note that a lot of the some stuff in this book is made up, so? not true. Why would you even write a memoir if you?re not going to be compl...
  • Sneha
    Feb 22, 2018
    Utterly charming and relatable! ...
  • Karen
    Jun 14, 2018
    This brings back the whole awful and funny experience of adolescent angst. Give it to your favorite kid, but not until they come back from summer camp (if they read the book first, they'll definitely have second thoughts about going!). ...
  • Nat
    Apr 05, 2018
    Summer Camp, Russian Culture, and Belonging Having adored Anya?s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, I was keen on checking out her spin with this gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir. All Vera wants to do is fit in?but that?s not easy for a Russian girl in the s...
  • Rod Brown
    May 06, 2018
    With strong art and solid writing, this is a well-done addition to the coming-of-age summer camp subgenre. The Russian Orthodox background of the characters gives the book a unique flavor. I'd like to see a follow-up to the little cliffhanger at the end. ...
  • Jay G
    May 07, 2018
    Want to see more from me? Check out my Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfer... Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of this in exchange for my honest review! Everyone Vera knows gets to go away to summer camp every year. All Vera wants is to be like...
  • emma
    May 04, 2018
    IF VERA BROSGOL DOESN'T HAVE THE CUTESTBEST ART STYLE IN THE WORLD, I SURE DO NOT KNOW WHO DOES. that's pretty much the standout part of this book in either direction. it's a classic indoors-kid-goes-to-camp-and-hates-it-and-everything-is-terrible-but-then-she-likes-it-because-she-m...
  • Julie Kirchner
    Apr 28, 2018
    I love graphic novels and how this format appeals to a wide range of students. This book will definitely be popular with students, but I did have some concerns about whether I feel comfortable promoting it with my elementary students. Vera Brosgol wrote this as a semi-autobiographi...
  • Misti
    Apr 11, 2018
    Nine-year-old Vera is excited about attending Russian camp. She?s always felt a little out of place among her friends, and hopes that a few weeks around other people of Russian heritage will help. Plus, she?s heard some great camp stories: bonfires and s?mores, hiking, ghost stor...
  • Mrs. Debraski
    Apr 27, 2018
    I was really looking forward to reading this and it did not disappoint. There was a lot of humor here, but it really was pretty sad (to me). Poor Vera was at a camp she hated, she had trouble fitting in, longed for a friendship and nothing seemed to go right. I was fascinated by the as...