Just the Funny Parts: ... And a Few Hard Truths About Sneaking Into the Hollywood Boys' Club

Just the Funny Parts: ... And a Few Hard Truths About Sneaking Into the Hollywood Boys' Club

FOREWORD BY SHERYL SANDBERG You?ve almost certainly laughed at Scovell?s jokes?you just didn?t know it until now. Just the Funny Parts is a juicy and scathingly funny insider look at how pop culture gets made. For more than thirty years, writer, producer and director Nell Scovell worked behind the scenes of iconic TV shows, including The Simpsons, Late Night with David Lette FOREWORD BY SHERYL SANDBERG You?ve almost certainly laughed at Scovell?s jokes?you just didn?t...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Just the Funny Parts: ... And a Few Hard Truths About Sneaking Into the Hollywood Boys' Club
Author:Nell Scovell
Rating:
Genres:Autobiography
ISBN:0062473506
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:316 pages pages

Just the Funny Parts: ... And a Few Hard Truths About Sneaking Into the Hollywood Boys' Club Reviews

  • Michelle
    Apr 02, 2018
    Adored this book by Nell Scovell, creator of the Sabrina the Teenage Witch TV show, among many other things. I loved following the ascent of her career and was careful not to google because I didn't want to know what happened next. (Although we know from the start she co-authored Lean ...
  • Ellen
    Apr 30, 2018
    Overall, I liked this one, but it lulled for me in the middle and I didn?t love it. Nell is an awesome, spunky, persistent comedy writer, and I did enjoy all of the behind-the-scenes insights into a writer?s life. At times, I (sheepishly) wanted some more big names or stories about...
  • Amy
    May 06, 2018
    This book does just what it says on the tin -- a straightforward memoir of Scovell's writing career, with a few personal-life tidbits thrown in for good measure -- and I've been recommending it to everyone for the past week or so. She really digs into what it's like and what it means t...
  • Christal
    Apr 25, 2018
    A must read for pretty much all working women, even if you're not in Hollywood. ...
  • Robin
    Apr 16, 2018
    This was a great book and I thoroughly enjoyed every page! Reading it gave me a totally new appreciation for TV writers. Even watching the shows my 5 year old granddaughter likes such as My Little Pony Friends are magic on Netflix, I kept thinking: someone wrote these words! I know, I ...
  • BMR, MSW, LSW
    Apr 08, 2018
    At first, this memoir annoyed me. You don't need a punch line in every paragraph. That's one of the differences between people who are funny for a living, and people who are just plain funny. I guess people who are funny for a living always think they are being paid per joke... Also, t...
  • Lee Anne
    Apr 01, 2018
    Behind-the-scenes television gossip combined with feminist words of encouragement. Nell Scovell worked at Spy magazine, on "Sabrina the Teenage Witch," and many other pop culture favorites of mine. This memoir is a good read for fans of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. I only wish I knew t...
  • Ryan Mishap
    May 17, 2018
    One woman's journey into TV writing, creating, and show-running while dealing with the overwhelmingly sexist male culture of Hollywood. Smart, certainly funny, and revealing, I quite enjoyed this (I have an interest in TV writing because I wish I had followed that path back when I was ...
  • Casey
    Apr 27, 2018
    Fantastic. Part a behind-the-scenes look at the entertainment industry from a writer's perspective and part women's empowerment anthem. The audio was really well done even if I thought it was odd the writer didn't narrate it herself. She has a producing credit on the audio, though, so ...
  • Liane
    Mar 22, 2018
    Measured, thoughtful, and wickedly funny! ...
  • Alex
    May 06, 2018
    When I passed this book at the library I recognized Nell's name immediately but couldn't think from what. Upon looking closer at the cover, I realized it was definitely from Sabrina the Teenage Witch (which she created), but also Simpsons and Monk. I knew right away I had to read this!...
  • Erin
    Apr 05, 2018
    I really love Scovell's behind-the-scenes look at what it's like to be the only female comedy writer in the room. Insightful and at times, disheartening, hopefully from her detailing the more difficult times, things can truly start to change---but that will only happen from having more...
  • Rob
    May 04, 2018
    There are many books about making it in Hollywood, but few are from the perspective of a female writer. Coming on the heels of the #MeToo movement, Scovell's memoir of being a woman in a man's world is a funny and sometimes disturbing look at the entertainment industry, working on show...
  • Laura Hill
    Apr 07, 2018
    Writing: 5; Importance: 4; Pleasure factor: 5 Funny, personal, and important - all in one sparkling package!   There?s been a recent spate of celebrity memoirs written by female comedians. I?ve read (or tried to read) them all:  Tina Fey?s Bossypants, Anna Ferris? Unqual...
  • Ami
    May 08, 2018
    3.5 stars Reading about Nell Scovell?s career was both funny (she is primarily a comedic writer after all) and immensely frustrating as we see the obstacles and challenges she faced solely because of her gender. Eye opening and engaging this book has me wondering why there isn?t ...
  • Joni Daniels
    Apr 06, 2018
    A funny, feminist, honest and sometimes eye opening look from writer, director, producer Nell Scovell, at what goes on behind the scenes, in the halls, and in the offices of some of our favorite shows. The reader learns not just about the competitive, male-dominated world of writing co...
  • Gretchen Alice
    May 21, 2018
    Sabrina the Teenage Witch was my first televised obsession. My first ship, my first style idol, my first time trying to rearrange plans so I didn't have to miss an episode of my favorite show. (That really happened, by the way. My parents made me go to my uncle's house for dinner anywa...
  • BookChic Club
    May 06, 2018
    I randomly came across this book on my Twitter feed and put it immediately on my holds list at the library. I had seen her name every so often on lots of shows I liked, particularly Sabrina, which is an all-time favorite, so I was excited to read her memoir. I actually read this pretty...
  • Jonathan Maas
    Apr 30, 2018
    An at times hilarious, and at times terrifying, but always inspiring memoir Great memoir by a legendary comedienne, or rather writer. Hilarious and inspiring, Nell Scovell takes us on her rocket ship of a career, and together we navigate through the asteroid field of such high profi...
  • Dennis Hogan
    Apr 16, 2018
    Just finished Just The Funny Parts: And A Few Truths About Sneaking Into The Hollywood Boys Club by Nell Scovell, a legendary comedy and dramatic writer, director, show-runner, producer. An illuminating book about the direct assault on gender equality and the equally insidious indirect...
  • Stuart
    Apr 06, 2018
    I loved loved loved loved this book. But I am biased biased biased. I met Nell when I came to work on Sabrina The Teenage Witch ( I edited something like 140 episodes). We became close friends there after. The book so well exhibits her sparkling, jaded, wise, cheerful, cynical and hero...
  • Sheri
    Apr 28, 2018
    Absolutely loved this book and wish I had known of Nell Scovell earlier. I've never really watched any of the shows she's written for, but she is all about my kind of humor. Example; "I first laid eyes on Sheryl Sandberg when friends started emailing me the link to her 2010 TED T...
  • Chris Jaffe
    May 04, 2018
    Well, that was fantastic. First off, it's funny. Yeah, that helps a lot. Second, it's interesting as Scovell right has been on a lot of well-known shows. She gives a sense of what it was like working on them without ever feeling like she was just rehashing tawdry gossip. Even when dirt...
  • Mediaman
    Apr 15, 2018
    Four-star first half, shaky middle section, disastrous ending. This is a rare book that provides plenty of behind-the-scenes details into how TV shows get made, mainly from the writer's standpoint. The Simpsons chapter alone is one to use in the classroom. But the author overstates her...
  • Christa Van
    Apr 06, 2018
    Nell Scovell has had a successful career writing for TV and movies despite being a WOMAN. She tells of being the only women in the writers room...pretty much forever. It is really illuminating to hear about what goes on behind the scene at some of your favorite shows. Nell has a wonder...
  • M. Langlinais
    May 22, 2018
    As someone who worked (very briefly) in "the industry," I very much enjoyed this book. Not laugh-out-loud funny but certainly insightful. Recommended for those curious to hear how things work in Hollywood--especially for women. ...
  • Grace
    Mar 23, 2018
    I wasn?t sure what to expect from Just the Funny Parts ? I don?t always love memoirs, and I?m easily vicariously embarrassed. This was everything I didn?t know I wanted. Nell manages to talk about her (often infuriating) entertainment experiences with both grace and a hig...
  • Tommy Van Norman
    Apr 03, 2018
    "Both Nell and I look forward to the day when there are no 'female writers'?just writers. We share an unshakeable belief that having an equal number of men and women sitting at the table where decisions are made will make this world fairer and better. It will also make the world funn...
  • Michelle Ruiz Andrews
    Mar 04, 2018
    Not since Bossypants have I loved and laughed over a memoir so much. This book was my heaven: a hilariously funny and frank look at writing and creativity and celebrities and TV and, lest we forget, fighting sexism in the workplace. Nell Scovell was and is a pioneer for women in Hollyw...
  • K.Haas
    May 01, 2018
    There are moments in "Just the Funny Parts" where you wish it was another of Nell Scovell's sitcoms, rather than an unflinching look at her real life. If only it were a work of fiction, real-life characters like Jim Stafford ? who coerced her into a sexual act when she thought he...