Now a Major Motion Picture

Now a Major Motion Picture

Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother?s famous high-fantasy trilogy?perfect for readers of Fangirl! Unlike the rest of the world, Iris doesn't care about the famous high-fantasy Elementia books written by M. E. Thorne. So it's just a little annoying that M. E. Thorne is her grandmother?and that Iris has to deal with the trilogy's crazy f Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother?s famous high-fantasy trilogy?pe...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Now a Major Motion Picture
Author:Cori McCarthy
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
Edition Language:English
Format Type:ebook

Now a Major Motion Picture Reviews

  • Lisa Mandina
    Mar 12, 2018
    So cute! And yet another book set in Ireland to make me want to visit even more!! Full review to come on Lisa Loves Literature soon. ...
  • Lauren
    Mar 17, 2018
    Now a Major Motion Picture completely surprised me! I went into it expecting to like it, but I never expected it to adore it as much as I did. What I Liked: 1. The Setting - Ireland is one of those places I would love to visit; however, until that day comes I guess I'll just liv...
  • Reading Teen
    Apr 08, 2018
    *full review to come* I adore this book. - Rea ...
  • Thamy
    Apr 18, 2018
    I see why they compare this to Fangirl, but the story itself isn't the same. 3.5. Iris is the granddaughter of a famous but deceased fantasy writer whose story is being filmed into a movie picture. She wasn't close to her grandmother and the last thing she and her family wants is...
  • Samantha
    Apr 10, 2018
    This was such a cute book, and I got so emotionally invested in the story. Seriously...I can honestly say that I ended up being late getting back to work after break because I was reading and forgot to pay attention to the time. ...
  • TL
    May 09, 2018
    "Say that the book is a sculpture. You can walk around the story. You can touch it. You can view it up close or far away. That is why people love books. The stories interact with your memories, your experiences. They're personalized. Movies? Movies are a picture of that same statue. Th...
  • Nicole Hewitt
    May 22, 2018
    3.5/5 Stars This book will bring out the fandom geek in just about anybody.I loved the fact that Iris couldn't care less about her grandmother's famous series, even while the world was busy adoring it. She'd spent her life avoiding her grandmother's fans, especially after an incid...
  • Isha
    Apr 23, 2018
    This book explores the dark side of the fandom world while also touching on a plethora of other topics such as women in the workforce, sexuality, race, trauma, and a bunch of other things. The book starts off in a way that made me want to keep reading, but somewhere in the middle, I...
  • Dayla
    Aug 05, 2018
    This review is part of a weekly Feature on my blog, Music Mondays. You can see the full post here. ___ This week?s featured book is Now A Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy, a surprisingly lesser known contemporary young adult novel that explores complex family relationships, ...
  • Bethany
    May 15, 2018
    4.5/5 stars Now a Major Motion Picture is the story of Iris, the granddaughter of M.E. Thorne, author of Elementia, the feminist version of LOTR. Iris and her little brother Ryder go to Ireland where the film adaptation of Elementia (Texas Library Association conference insider secr...
  • Sarah
    Jun 18, 2018
    THIS BOOK GAVE ME ALL THE IRELAND FEELS. PLUS FEMINISM. PLUS FANTASY NOSTALGIA. Okay. This book follows Iris, who has been living in the shadows of her famous author grandmother and her neglectful parents. She's responsible for her brother as they visit the set of her late grandmoth...
  • Karla Mae (Reads and Thoughts)
    Mar 31, 2018
    *ARC Kindly provided by Sourcebooks Fire for review* Admittedly, at first, this book wasn?t even on my radar but thank you to my generous friends from Sourcebooks Fire for offering this book for review. I?m immediately hooked! Now a Major Motion Picture is such an underrated gem...
  • Colleen's Conclusions
    Apr 17, 2018
    DNF at 30 percent. I REALLY wanted to like this book because it sounded like it was up my alley... it was set in Ireland, and it was about a movie being taken place there. I just started losing interest within 30 percent. It's not a bad book, I just missed the connection. ...
  • Mandi Schneck
    Mar 31, 2018
    I don't even know where to begin with this book, simply because it was just THAT GOOD. Now A Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy is technically a contemporary, but the plot centers around a fantasy novel becoming a film. Iris Thorne's grandmother is famous for writing a series of hig...
  • Kelley
    Jun 08, 2018
    5/5 Now a Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy is a young-adult contemporary romance about Iris Throne the granddaughter of M.E. Throne, a famous high-fantasy author. M.E. Throne is known most for Elementia, which Iris could care less about because of the crazy fans that come wit...
  • Joshua Gabriel (조수아)
    Oct 10, 2017
    Thank you, Sourcebooks Fire, for giving me an e-galley of this book in exchange for an honest review. I'd read her story and began drowning in a loss I'd never known was mine. My grandmother was a brilliant author?and I'd never read her books. Now a Major Motion Picture is mark...
  • Elissa
    Aug 01, 2018
    I'll be honest, I went in looking for a little fluff and wasn't expecting much, but inhaled this in one sitting. It was just so good! Iris and Ryder are the grandchildren of M. E. Thorne, the famous author who wrote a sort of feminist Lord of the Rings trilogy, of which the first bo...
  • Neliss
    Jul 30, 2018
    Zaujmav nmet a setting v podobe vletu na nakrcanie filmovej adaptcia fantasy trilgie? Splnen. ?itate?n text a prbeh, ktorho koncom si nebudete ist a budete ho chcie? spozna?? Splnen. Odvrten strana fandomu a hlavn hrdinka, ktor nie je typick?...
  • Veronika
    May 26, 2018
    The biggest surprise of 2018 so far! Now a Major Motion Picture was a pocketful of dorkiness, mixed with complex portrayal of family, friendship and an adorable as hell romance. There's a huge emphasis on intersectional feminism, therapy positivity (!) and following your dreams, and wo...
  • Carol
    Mar 24, 2018
    What I expected: fun, contemporary YA romance that takes place in Ireland on the set of a film. What I got: all that, plus a lot of heart, soul-searching, humor, diversity, and critical thinking. I received an advanced copy from the publisher via Netgalley for review consideration. ...
  • Charley
    Apr 07, 2018
    If you were ready for a nice chill review for this book, this is not the review for you. Now A Major Motion Picture touched my nerdy heart, nurtured it, and set it free. And then made me fall in love with Florence + The Machine again as well as want to watch Narnia. So I would prepare ...
  • Mandy
    Mar 28, 2018
    I'm so conflicted about this one, my bookish friends. It had so many moments that I was dying/loving. But then there was so many moments that I just stared at the book, moved it slightly to the side, and side-eyed it. I originally thought that Cori McCarthy jumped into my head l...
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    Apr 03, 2018
    Iris was raised to resent her grandmother's world famous Elementia books, and her ire for the series deepened after a rabid fan crossed the line. Out of obligation though, Iris agreed to accompany her little brother to the set of the film adaptation. What she thought would be a most mi...
  • ✶Rachelle✶
    Jun 27, 2018
    4.5 stars "You helped my production, and now I'm helping you. This is what women should do for one another. We are a continent. We stick together. We all rise up, or we all go down" I loved this book so much. Full review to come once I get a good 8 hours of sleep. Been awak...
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    Dec 30, 2017
    ?Everyone else got to read Elementia and discover something about the world or themselves. Not me. I?d read her story and began drowning in a loss I?d never known was mine.? Now A Major Motion Picture was a really fun reading experience about fandom, family, and finding yo...
  • Em
    Jun 24, 2018
    4.5 ...
  • Sarah
    Feb 01, 2018
    I absolutely adored this new book by Cory McCarthy. I enjoyed reading Breaking Sky by McCathy and You Were Here is one of my favorite books, so having the chance to read this new novel early was something I'm very happy about. I loved a lot of things about this book, but most of all ho...
  • Ally (book__ventures)
    Dec 25, 2017
    Now a Major Motion Picture is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell?s Fangirl. Both novels have an inner fantasy novel the stories are centered around. And after finishing Now a Major Motion Picture, I can saw that I hope Elementia is published like Rainbow Rowell did with Carry On. ...
  • Pie
    May 10, 2018
    Figured I can write a longer review now that I'm done with my history exam, so here we go. LIKES: ?Behind-the-scenes movie stuff is my FAVORITE. I've watched all of the stuff for Lord of the Rings and can probably still recite weird trivia for a lot of other movies, so it was great...
  • rayna ♥
    Aug 11, 2018
    I LOVED THIS SO MUCH. SO SO SO MUCH. I read this in one sitting in the middle of the night and I loved every damn word. I love stories like this. They are my weakness. Girl going abroad. Meets foreign boy. ROMANCE. Saves a thing that she didn't believe in at first. TROPES ARE SO BE...