Now a Major Motion Picture

Now a Major Motion Picture

Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother?s famous high-fantasy trilogy?perfect for readers of Fangirl! Unlike the rest of the world, Iris doesn't care about the famous high-fantasy Elementia books written by M. E. Thorne. So it's just a little annoying that M. E. Thorne is her grandmother?and that Iris has to deal with the trilogy's crazy f Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother?s famous high-fantasy trilogy?pe...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Now a Major Motion Picture
Author:Cori McCarthy
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
Edition Language:English
Format Type:ebook

Now a Major Motion Picture Reviews

  • Lisa Mandina
    Mar 12, 2018
    So cute! And yet another book set in Ireland to make me want to visit even more!! Full review to come on Lisa Loves Literature soon. ...
  • Aimee
    May 16, 2018
    I kind of feel like this book was meant for me. Except for the part where the main character hates fantasy fandoms. I don't know if this book is for everyone but if you like love stories, strong female characters, and fantasy fandoms then this should probably be on your to-read pile. Y...
  • Lauren
    Mar 17, 2018
    Now a Major Motion Picture completely surprised me! I went into it expecting to like it, but I never expected it to adore it as much as I did. What I Liked: 1. The Setting - Ireland is one of those places I would love to visit; however, until that day comes I guess I'll just liv...
  • Reading Teen
    Apr 08, 2018
    *full review to come* I adore this book. - Rea ...
  • Thamy
    Apr 18, 2018
    I see why they compare this to Fangirl, but the story itself isn't the same. 3.5. Iris is the granddaughter of a famous but deceased fantasy writer whose story is being filmed into a movie picture. She wasn't close to her grandmother and the last thing she and her family wants is...
  • Christina (Ensconced in Lit)
    May 12, 2018
    There's just something about this book. There have been a slew of contemps that center around a fantasy story, and sometimes it ends in abject failure, but sometimes, it succeeds in spades like this book. I absolutely loved it. Iris, our main character, is a flawed protagonist. She's...
  • Samantha
    Apr 10, 2018
    This was such a cute book, and I got so emotionally invested in the story. Seriously...I can honestly say that I ended up being late getting back to work after break because I was reading and forgot to pay attention to the time. ...
  • TL
    May 09, 2018
    "Say that the book is a sculpture. You can walk around the story. You can touch it. You can view it up close or far away. That is why people love books. The stories interact with your memories, your experiences. They're personalized. Movies? Movies are a picture of that same statue. Th...
  • Nicole Hewitt
    May 22, 2018
    3.5/5 Stars This book will bring out the fandom geek in just about anybody.I loved the fact that Iris couldn't care less about her grandmother's famous series, even while the world was busy adoring it. She'd spent her life avoiding her grandmother's fans, especially after an incid...
  • Isha
    Apr 23, 2018
    This book explores the dark side of the fandom world while also touching on a plethora of other topics such as women in the workforce, sexuality, race, trauma, and a bunch of other things. The book starts off in a way that made me want to keep reading, but somewhere in the middle, I...
  • Bethany
    May 15, 2018
    4.5/5 stars Now a Major Motion Picture is the story of Iris, the granddaughter of M.E. Thorne, author of Elementia, the feminist version of LOTR. Iris and her little brother Ryder go to Ireland where the film adaptation of Elementia (Texas Library Association conference insider secr...
  • L
    May 01, 2018
    I just really, really loved this. ...
  • Karla Mae (Reads and Thoughts)
    Mar 31, 2018
    *ARC Kindly provided by Sourcebooks Fire for review* Admittedly, at first, this book wasn?t even on my radar but thank you to my generous friends from Sourcebooks Fire for offering this book for review. I?m immediately hooked! Now a Major Motion Picture is such an underrated gem...
  • Colleen
    Apr 17, 2018
    DNF at 30 percent. I REALLY wanted to like this book because it sounded like it was up my alley... it was set in Ireland, and it was about a movie being taken place there. I just started losing interest within 30 percent. It's not a bad book, I just missed the connection. ...
  • Mandi Schneck
    Mar 31, 2018
    I don't even know where to begin with this book, simply because it was just THAT GOOD. Now A Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy is technically a contemporary, but the plot centers around a fantasy novel becoming a film. Iris Thorne's grandmother is famous for writing a series of hig...
  • Kelley
    Jun 08, 2018
    I was really skeptical when I picked this one up not to long ago, but I was pleasantly surprised. Bring as much of the fantasy world and the fanbase made me appreciate this novel a little bit more. McCarthy was able to show how crazy some fans can be when you make their favorites into ...
  • Joshua Gabriel (조수아)
    Oct 10, 2017
    Thank you, Sourcebooks Fire, for giving me an e-galley of this book in exchange for an honest review. I'd read her story and began drowning in a loss I'd never known was mine. My grandmother was a brilliant author?and I'd never read her books. Now a Major Motion Picture is mark...
  • Jen Malone
    Sep 02, 2017
    Loved this so much!! ...
  • Veronika
    May 26, 2018
    The biggest surprise of 2018 so far! Now a Major Motion Picture was a pocketful of dorkiness, mixed with complex portrayal of family, friendship and an adorable as hell romance. There's a huge emphasis on intersectional feminism, therapy positivity (!) and following your dreams, and wo...
  • Carol
    Mar 24, 2018
    What I expected: fun, contemporary YA romance that takes place in Ireland on the set of a film. What I got: all that, plus a lot of heart, soul-searching, humor, diversity, and critical thinking. I received an advanced copy from the publisher via Netgalley for review consideration. ...
  • Yvonne Olson
    Jan 14, 2018
    Everybody has their go to slump-killing genre. Mine just so happens to be nerdy contemporary romance. I'll admit, this book wasn't even on my radar at first. I was looking through Netgalley, a little bored of all of the fantasy books I read, and I saw this and I was happy because it ...
  • Charley
    Apr 07, 2018
    If you were ready for a nice chill review for this book, this is not the review for you. Now A Major Motion Picture touched my nerdy heart, nurtured it, and set it free. And then made me fall in love with Florence + The Machine again as well as want to watch Narnia. So I would prepare ...
  • Lindsey
    Apr 15, 2018
    Definitely a new favorite!!! This is the cutest and sweetest and funnest book ever!! Also, it?s set mostly in Ireland and I?ve been to the places they go to! Which just makes it THAT much better. Highly recommend!!! ...
  • Mandy
    Mar 28, 2018
    I'm so conflicted about this one, my bookish friends. It had so many moments that I was dying/loving. But then there was so many moments that I just stared at the book, moved it slightly to the side, and side-eyed it. I originally thought that Cori McCarthy jumped into my head l...
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    Apr 03, 2018
    Iris was raised to resent her grandmother's world famous Elementia books, and her ire for the series deepened after a rabid fan crossed the line. Out of obligation though, Iris agreed to accompany her little brother to the set of the film adaptation. What she thought would be a most mi...
  • Gretal
    Nov 24, 2017
    i didn't have high expectations for this based on the cover and the back and the first chapter, but I was pleasantly surprised. ...
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    Dec 30, 2017
    ?Everyone else got to read Elementia and discover something about the world or themselves. Not me. I?d read her story and began drowning in a loss I?d never known was mine.? Now A Major Motion Picture was a really fun reading experience about fandom, family, and finding yo...
  • Sarah
    Feb 01, 2018
    I absolutely adored this new book by Cory McCarthy. I enjoyed reading Breaking Sky by McCathy and You Were Here is one of my favorite books, so having the chance to read this new novel early was something I'm very happy about. I loved a lot of things about this book, but most of all ho...
  • Ally (book__ventures)
    Dec 25, 2017
    Now a Major Motion Picture is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell?s Fangirl. Both novels have an inner fantasy novel the stories are centered around. And after finishing Now a Major Motion Picture, I can saw that I hope Elementia is published like Rainbow Rowell did with Carry On. ...
  • Pie
    May 10, 2018
    Figured I can write a longer review now that I'm done with my history exam, so here we go. LIKES: ?Behind-the-scenes movie stuff is my FAVORITE. I've watched all of the stuff for Lord of the Rings and can probably still recite weird trivia for a lot of other movies, so it was great...