The Sacrifice Box

The Sacrifice Box

Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient stone box hidden in the forest, they decide to each make a sacrifice: something special to them, committed to the box for ever. And they make a pact: they will never return to the box at night; they'll never visit it alone; and they'll never take back their Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient sto...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Sacrifice Box
Author:Martin Stewart
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:The Sacrifice Box
Edition Language
  • The Sacrifice Box
  • The Sacrifice Box
  • 111x148
  • 111x148
edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sacrifice Box, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sacrifice Box

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

The Sacrifice Box Reviews

  • Sara
    Nov 23, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. One summer 70's evening, five boys discover a box in the woods. To cement their friendship, the friends decide to make sacrifices to the box by giving up something meaningful to place inside, with the threat that if on...
  • Rhoda
    Jan 17, 2018
    Thank you to Penguin for the copy of this book. Sadly, this book just wasn?t for me. That said, I enjoyed the dynamic with the group of friends and Arkle did make me laugh. I enjoyed the writing too but I just couldn?t really get into the story. I also didn?t appreciate the numbe...
  • Clare
    Jan 23, 2018
    This review was originally posted at Dual Reads Advance Reader Copy received for an honest review. This was so, so intense. There were moments of humour and lightness but there were also moments that made me tense up - and some that were outright scary. This has been compared to ...
  • Cora ☕ Tea Party Princess
    Feb 05, 2018
    DNF at 10% - I'm just not feeling it right now but I will come back to it when I'm in the mood. ...
  • gem
    Jan 29, 2018
    A deliciously dark, creepy and awesomely weird ya horror novel that?s perfect for fans of Dawn Kurtagich, Micheal Grant and Andrew Smith. On the blurb The Sacrifice Box was recommended for fans of Stranger Things and Stephen King and I?d wholeheartedly agree with this! I wa...
  • Alyce Hunt
    Jan 27, 2018
    There are a few words I could use to summariseThe Sacrifice Box. Gratuitous. Excessive. Unnecessary. I'm struggling to comprehend how a book like this managed to get published, let alone published as a young adult novel. Honestly, it's my own fault. I should have known wha...
  • Emma
    Jan 10, 2018
    The Sacrifice Box. I have been looking forward to reading this story for a while. I was not disappointed. Fabulous stuff and almost perfectly formed for me as the reader. This is really a book for my generation. Finally British children of the eighties like me, get an anglicise...
  • Ellen
    Jan 30, 2018
    I really enjoyed this book! The 80's references were great and really appealed to me as they brought back some great memories. Definitely on trend at the moment as the 80's seem to be influencing a lot of books and TV series recently. I felt the friendship can conquer all angle worked ...
  • Betelgeuse
    Mar 03, 2018
    A book about a killer teddy-bear? Count me in. 'when a teenage boy and a sacrifice box love each other very much, sometimes they - ' ^Basically the book in a sentence. I was expecting a horror story, spooky and macabre. I received a story about love, friendship, forgiving ...
  • Lia
    Dec 01, 2017
    Please tell me I?m not the only one who didn?t expect a horror novel after reading that synopsis? I normally don?t read horror books, it?s not at all my genre, but I did enjoy reading this one (surprisingly)! The story is about Sep (whose name is actually September), he?s lon...
  • Hannah
    Jan 01, 2018
    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review I first heard of this book when watching YALC vlogs last year and was immediately excited for it- anything reminiscent of Stranger Things has me immediately interested! For about the first 25% I didn't unders...
  • Ally
    Feb 13, 2018
    They spoke the words, the rules of the sacrifice. "Never come to the box alone," they said, hands unmoving. Never open it after dark," they said, fingers joined together. Never take back your sacrifice," they finished. Then let go. I have been forever ruined in the genre of ho...
  • Liz Barnsley
    Jan 15, 2018
    The synopsis for this one sounded so dark and brilliant (even as YA) that I was really looking forward to it - I read it fast, it is an easy read in that sense, but honestly it missed the mark for me on quite a few levels. That is not to say that it is not entertaining. It is in man...
  • Leonie Byrne
    Nov 04, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and Martin Stewart for my ARC of The Sacrifice Box. First off let me give a trigger warning to potential readers that lots of animals die in this book which was quite upsetting (for me) and might be for you. It?s the late 70s and a group of f...
  • Amy (Amysbookcorner)
    Feb 19, 2018
    Find review on my blog too :D One summer five friends find a mysterious box and they decide that they should put something that is important for them into the box, something that represents them. However, when eerie things start to happen in their little town; dead animals come bac...
  • Claire Reeder
    Dec 20, 2017
    I?m not one to give up on a book but this one was a struggle. Billed as for fans of the Goonies and Stranger Things I was really looking forward to reading this but was disappointed. Firstly I couldn?t even work out where this book was supposed to be set. They?re on an island...
  • Sarah Davies
    Nov 16, 2017
    This book was a really nice surprise and so on the current trend of eighties revival stories. If you like Stranger Things, Goonies, E.T or Stand By Me this book is really for you, starting in the beginning of the 80's around 1982 five kids spend their summer together at the end of t...
  • Paromjit
    Dec 11, 2017
    This is a dark and atmospheric supernatural horror thriller set in the 1980s. The actual location is left mysteriously unclear although we do know that it is an island. It is 1982 and the main character, September 'Sep' Hope and teens Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley have spent the summer ...
  • Ken
    Jan 29, 2018
    When a group of friends discover a stone box that they find in the woods they each make a sacrifice - something that's special to them with only three simple rules: Never come to the box alone Never open it after dark Never take back your sacrifice. Four years later, strange eve...
  • Rachael (foreverxbookish)
    Jan 08, 2018
    I don't know where to even begin. How am I meant to explain the multitude of emotions that coursed lme every night when I picked this book up? The Sacrifice Boxis both touching and terrifying and I don't quite know how that works so well. I finished this book at 2:30am and even no...
  • Alyssa Grace
    Dec 12, 2017
    "They spoke the words--the rules of the sacrifice. 'Never come to the box alone,' they said, hands unmoving. 'Never open it after dark,' they said, fingers joined together. 'Never take back your sacrifice,' they finished--then let go." Five friends reuniting after four years, ha...
  • Louise Wilson
    Jan 06, 2018
    Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley are five friends who are thrown together one hot, sultry summer. They discover a stone box hidden in the forest and they decide to make a sacrifice: something special to them. They make a pact, they will never return to the box at night, they will neve...
  • Mrs Karen Reid
    Dec 03, 2017
    This book was a perfect mix of Stranger Things meets Stephen King. It was not relaxing read, I found nd myself really tense, rushing on to find out how things would end for the 5 friends. The horrors they had to endure, I felt like I was a sixth member just along for the ride. ...
  • Eloise - BookPolar
    Feb 02, 2018
    I managed to read about 20% of this book or so but the ARC formatting in part 2 just fell apart and I gave up, it was too hard to try and read. But what I will say about the 'sample' I read was, it was incredible. Flitting forwards and backwards in time we follow a bunch of estranged ...
  • demislibrary
    Feb 08, 2018
    This book was incredible. Think Stranger Things but a lot Stranger! It is such a good story about friendship and love. It was more of a thriller, which I don?t tend to read, but this may have changed my mind! I must get my hands on some more of Stewarts books, his writing style reall...
  • Julie Lacey
    Nov 21, 2017
    I didn?t really know what to expect from this book but I really enjoyed it. I felt a real connection to all the characters, especially Sep and Hadley. The story goes back to 1986 when the group of friends each place something into the sacrifice box but then a while later one of t...
  • Matilda Chapman
    Feb 04, 2018
    Firstly, yes..there are lots of similarities between IT and The Sacrifice Box. They both follow a group of predominantly misfit kids/teens as they try to solve a horrifying mystery and it's also set in the eighties. Stewart also takes seemingly innocent, and non-scary things and distor...
  • Caroline
    Feb 14, 2018
    A weird but engaging book that follows September (genuinely that's his name, it took some getting used to) and his gang of on/off friends whilst they investigate why the Sacrifice Box is sending their sacrifices back to try and kill them. According to the rules of the box, someone must...
  • Cassidy (Reminders of the Changing Time)
    Jan 15, 2018
    To see all of my book-related content, check out my blog @ Is it too early to add this as a contender for one of my most disappointing reads of 2018? Because, its barely a month into the year but I don?t think any other book is going to be able to top this. I...
  • Kirsty 📚📖❤️
    Jan 16, 2018
    One of the great things I loved about this book was the setting. It?s set in 1986 and the lead characters are just 1 year older than me at the time. It brings about such great memories of bad hair, outlandish dress sense and some fabulous music. I?d give it all the stars just for...