The Sacrifice Box

The Sacrifice Box

Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient stone box hidden in the forest, they decide to each make a sacrifice: something special to them, committed to the box for ever. And they make a pact: they will never return to the box at night; they'll never visit it alone; and they'll never take back their Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient sto...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Sacrifice Box
Author:Martin Stewart
Rating:
Genres:Horror
ISBN:The Sacrifice Box
Edition Language
English
  • The Sacrifice Box
  • The Sacrifice Box
  • The Sacrifice Box
  • 111x148
edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sacrifice Box, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sacrifice Box

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

The Sacrifice Box Reviews

  • Yzabel Ginsberg
    Apr 04, 2018
    [I received a copy of this book through Netgalley.] The blurb for this book immediately reminded me of some of the horror books I?d read in the early 90s?mostly Stephen King paperbacks my mother gave me, so this ?80s + horror + kids? combination is one I?ve known in quite ...
  • Sassy Brit
    May 09, 2018
    Visit all my reviews here. I love to chat books! Pop by, leave your review links! When a bunch of kids, September "Sep" Hope, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley discover an ancient stone box, they decide to each sacrifice something important to them to cement their friendship. As they do...
  • Sara
    Nov 23, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. One summer 70's evening, five boys discover a box in the woods. To cement their friendship, the friends decide to make sacrifices to the box by giving up something meaningful to place inside, with the threat that if on...
  • Clare
    Jan 23, 2018
    This review was originally posted at Dual Reads Advance Reader Copy received for an honest review. This was so, so intense. There were moments of humour and lightness but there were also moments that made me tense up - and some that were outright scary. This has been compared to ...
  • SnarkyWolf
    May 17, 2018
    I received an ebook copy of this book for an honest review. I am quite late in writing my review of this book, and this is partly due to issues with my device and formatting. Unfortunately, this isn't the only reason why I've had this book on my Kindle for several months and am only...
  • Cora ☕ Tea Party Princess
    Feb 05, 2018
    DNF at 10% - I'm just not feeling it right now but I will come back to it when I'm in the mood. ...
  • gem
    Jan 29, 2018
    A deliciously dark, creepy and awesomely weird ya horror novel that?s perfect for fans of Dawn Kurtagich, Micheal Grant and Andrew Smith. On the blurb The Sacrifice Box was recommended for fans of Stranger Things and Stephen King and I?d wholeheartedly agree with this! I wa...
  • Kirsti
    May 27, 2018
    I've always enjoyed horror books, while hating that they scare me at the same time. Although this one wasn't too scary, it had enough scary/gross out moments that I could appreciate it. Basically it is the story of five friends who are driven together for just one summer, and then when...
  • Mehsi
    Mar 25, 2018
    "Never come to the box alone. Never open it after dark. Never take back your sacrifice." A few simple rules, but you would be surprised how people get it wrong, and not only that, but people think that the box is all sweet and kind intentions. Hello, I could have told you from the...
  • Kate~Bibliophile Book Club
    May 28, 2018
    Creepy AF! But super fun. Really enjoyed this one! ...
  • Ellen
    Jan 30, 2018
    I really enjoyed this book! The 80's references were great and really appealed to me as they brought back some great memories. Definitely on trend at the moment as the 80's seem to be influencing a lot of books and TV series recently. I felt the friendship can conquer all angle worked ...
  • Betelgeuse
    Mar 03, 2018
    A book about a killer teddy-bear? Count me in. 'when a teenage boy and a sacrifice box love each other very much, sometimes they - ' ^Basically the book in a sentence. I was expecting a horror story, spooky and macabre. I received a story about love, friendship, forgiving ...
  • Lia
    Dec 01, 2017
    Please tell me I?m not the only one who didn?t expect a horror novel after reading that synopsis? I normally don?t read horror books, it?s not at all my genre, but I did enjoy reading this one (surprisingly)! The story is about Sep (whose name is actually September), he?s lon...
  • Nicola Wells
    Mar 22, 2018
    This review was first published on Bookality.com. Starting in 1982, Martin Stewart?s second, stand-alone book, The Sacrifice Box, is an admirable combination of terrifying and dark-humour. Following the story of Sep (September), Mack, Arkle, Lamb and Hadley through their childhood...
  • Hannah
    Jan 01, 2018
    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review I first heard of this book when watching YALC vlogs last year and was immediately excited for it- anything reminiscent of Stranger Things has me immediately interested! For about the first 25% I didn't unders...
  • Ally
    Feb 13, 2018
    They spoke the words, the rules of the sacrifice. "Never come to the box alone," they said, hands unmoving. Never open it after dark," they said, fingers joined together. Never take back your sacrifice," they finished. Then let go. I have been forever ruined in the genre of ho...
  • Liz Barnsley
    Jan 15, 2018
    The synopsis for this one sounded so dark and brilliant (even as YA) that I was really looking forward to it - I read it fast, it is an easy read in that sense, but honestly it missed the mark for me on quite a few levels. That is not to say that it is not entertaining. It is in man...
  • Leonie Byrne
    Nov 04, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and Martin Stewart for my ARC of The Sacrifice Box. First off let me give a trigger warning to potential readers that lots of animals die in this book which was quite upsetting (for me) and might be for you. It?s the late 70s and a group of f...
  • Amy (Amysbookcorner)
    Feb 19, 2018
    Find review on my blog too :D One summer five friends find a mysterious box and they decide that they should put something that is important for them into the box, something that represents them. However, when eerie things start to happen in their little town; dead animals come bac...
  • Kirsty Hanson
    Apr 08, 2018
    I had to read The Sacrifice Box for the monthly book club at my local Waterstones. The premise of the book sounded so interesting! I love books that focus on friendship, and I do love a good thriller/horror novel! So this sounded like a perfect read for me. Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb an...
  • Elizabeth Emily Browne
    Jun 01, 2018
    What in the world did I just read. I?m pretty sure this is one of the craziest things I?ve read this year.. maybe even ever. But anyway this was a story of love, friendship.. nightmares, horror, killer teddy bears, creepy crows and pretty much killer everything. I don?t know what...
  • Ellen Gail
    May 20, 2018
    Lots of great 80s vibes and some creepy stuff, but lacking in the secondary characters. Full review to come. Thanks to Edelweiss and Viking Books for the DRC ...
  • Paromjit
    Dec 11, 2017
    This is a dark and atmospheric supernatural horror thriller set in the 1980s. The actual location is left mysteriously unclear although we do know that it is an island. It is 1982 and the main character, September 'Sep' Hope and teens Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley have spent the summer ...
  • Rachael (foreverxbookish)
    Jan 08, 2018
    I don't know where to even begin. How am I meant to explain the multitude of emotions that coursed lme every night when I picked this book up? The Sacrifice Boxis both touching and terrifying and I don't quite know how that works so well. I finished this book at 2:30am and even no...
  • Louise Wilson
    Jan 06, 2018
    Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley are five friends who are thrown together one hot, sultry summer. They discover a stone box hidden in the forest and they decide to make a sacrifice: something special to them. They make a pact, they will never return to the box at night, they will neve...
  • demislibrary
    Feb 08, 2018
    This book was incredible. Think Stranger Things but a lot Stranger! It is such a good story about friendship and love. It was more of a thriller, which I don?t tend to read, but this may have changed my mind! I must get my hands on some more of Stewarts books, his writing style reall...
  • Matilda Chapman
    Feb 04, 2018
    Firstly, yes..there are lots of similarities between IT and The Sacrifice Box. They both follow a group of predominantly misfit kids/teens as they try to solve a horrifying mystery and it's also set in the eighties. Stewart also takes seemingly innocent, and non-scary things and distor...
  • Kayla
    Apr 04, 2018
    I didn't love this book but it was really entertaining to read and it had a really enjoyable storyline. ...
  • Cassidy (Reminders of the Changing Time)
    Jan 15, 2018
    To see all of my book-related content, check out my blog @ http://bit.ly/2zzVt0R Is it too early to add this as a contender for one of my most disappointing reads of 2018? Because, its barely a month into the year but I don?t think any other book is going to be able to top this. I...
  • Kirsty 📚📖❤️
    Jan 16, 2018
    One of the great things I loved about this book was the setting. It?s set in 1986 and the lead characters are just 1 year older than me at the time. It brings about such great memories of bad hair, outlandish dress sense and some fabulous music. I?d give it all the stars just for...