Pachinko

Pachinko

Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exil Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized dau...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Pachinko
Author:Min Jin Lee
Rating:
Genres:Historical
ISBN:Pachinko
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:489 pages pages

Pachinko Reviews

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    Feb 04, 2018
    I picked this from Book of the Month last year, and then my in-person book club voted to read it in the 2017-18 season. Since we aren't reading it until June, I was going to wait, but then saw the author would be coming to my town on February 5, and I wanted to go see her read and get ...
  • Cheri
    Nov 19, 2016
    !! NOW AVAILABLE !! 3.5 Stars rounded up Pachinko is a sweeping family saga listed as being for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. Following one Korean family through the years from Yeongdo, Busan, Korea where a poor fisherman and his wife give birth to a young...
  • Elyse
    Apr 11, 2017
    A very enjoyable lengthy historical fiction! *A Jewel*!!!!! Some days Sunja, daughter of the owner of a boardinghouse in Korea, felt chills when she was growing her secret child. If she had agreed to remain the mistress of the rich man in Japan whom she got pregnant with - who was m...
  • Roxane
    Jul 26, 2017
    What a marvelous, deeply engrossing novel about four generations of a Korean family in Japan. There was a lot of story here and a lot of history (of which I was woefully ignorant) and it is all rendered in impeccable prose with a touch of steeliness. Toward the end of the novel, things...
  • Maxwell
    Mar 24, 2017
    Alright, after thinking about this one for the last 24 hours or so, I think I've figured out how to articulate what I didn't like about it. But first I want to start with the stuff I did really enjoy. The book taught me a lot about the dynamic between Koreans & Japanese, especia...
  • Thomas
    Feb 12, 2017
    One of the most brilliant and heartbreaking books I have ever read, I would like to thank Min Jin Lee for writing Pachinko and starting my 2018 with this splendid saga. Pachinko follows four generations of a Korean family who move to Japan amidst Japanese colonization and political war...
  • Ellie
    May 29, 2017
    This has been on my list since it first came out and it was no disappointment. This family saga begins with a poor but loving Korean family and follows them through the next three generations and to Japan. Although I was aware of the prejudice Japan had for Koreans, I really had no ide...
  • Dianne
    Mar 07, 2018
    I really enjoyed this saga of a Korean family from the 1930's to 1989. The story centers around Sunja, who is a teenager in Korea in the early 30's. Her father has died and she and her mother run a boarding house, earning money by taking in lodgers. Sunja is seduced by a mysterious bus...
  • Alex
    Dec 02, 2017
    I kicked off 2018 by reading some of the best of 2017. This was the last book of the project. Here are the selections; here's Digg's aggregate top ten list. Pachinko is like gambling on pinball machines, so I don't know how that hasn't destroyed civilization yet, good lord. H...
  • Lori
    Nov 07, 2017
    Feel like I?ve just read two separate books. I really enjoyed the first half, but not so much the second. The timespan this novel encompasses includes several generations of characters, however, I only really felt connected to the ones from the first part and I missed them in the sec...
  • Candi
    Apr 09, 2018
    "? there could only be a few winners and a lot of losers. And yet we played on, because we had hope that we might be the lucky ones. How could you get angry at the ones who wanted to be in the game?... Pachinko was a foolish game, but life was not." I hadn?t really understood ex...
  • Liz
    Aug 11, 2018
    I had this in my TBR queue for ages. It took making it a book club selection to bring it to the front of the line. It?s described as an epic tale of generations of Koreans in Japan and epic truly describes it. I felt like I was reading one of James Michener?s sagas. I loved S...
  • Barry Pierce
    Mar 23, 2018
    In the sweeping and monolithic Pachinko, Min Jin Lee documents four generations of a Korean family in Japan from 1910 to 1989. First conceived in 1989, Lee worked on this novel for over 25 years and what a masterpiece she has to show for all her work. Only really comparable in scope to...
  • Emily May
    Sep 06, 2017
    History has failed us, but no matter. Look, I get it. A lot of people won't be interested in this book because they have no idea what pachinko means and what exactly is going on with that cover, anyway? We are highly susceptible to marketing techniques and the cover and title give u...
  • Angela M
    Mar 21, 2017
    One of the things I like about reading well written historical fiction is that it can take me to another time and place and can be a profound learning experience. I knew close to nothing about the Japanese occupation of Korea from 1910 through WWII. Last year I read Tiger Pelt which in...
  • David Yoon
    Mar 20, 2017
    Told in chronological order, this book spans 4 generations and nearly a century of time and focuses on Zainichi or ethnic Koreans living in Japan. These Zainichi are essentially stateless citizens registered to Joseon or a unified Korea that hasn?t existed since the Korean War. Up un...
  • PorshaJo
    Feb 20, 2018
    Rating 3.75 I had gone back and forth on reading this one. I would get it from the library and return it. But it was a National Book Award finalist, so it should be good. My library got the audio and I had to wait months to get it, so it should be good. It's historical fiction and I...
  • Rebecca Foster
    Jan 20, 2017
    Although some of the central events of the novel, like World War II and the atomic bomb drop at Nagasaki, are familiar territory for fiction, Lee prioritizes out-of-the-ordinary perspectives: her Korean characters are first the colonized, and then the outsiders trying to thrive in a fo...
  • Wen
    Jan 27, 2018
    This one was just okay to me. I got some historical context around ethical discrimination in Japan against people originally from Korea, and women?s subservient status in Japanese/Korean society in the first half of the 20th century. Neither the plot nor the writing stood out. Most c...
  • Jennifer Blankfein
    Mar 28, 2017
    Pachinko is just the kind of book I love. It starts in Korea in the early 1900s with Hoonie, a young man with a cleft palate and a twisted foot. Despite his deformities he marries and his wife gives birth to a daughter, Sunja. When Sunja is a young teenager she makes some bad choices a...
  • Linda
    Mar 06, 2018
    We are deemed to be the directors of our lives and its consequences. Truth be told, we then become the receptors marked by the shadows of others upon us.....given and taken away. Min Jin Lee begins her story in 1910 in Yeongdo, Busan, Korea with Hoonie, plagued by physical impairmen...
  • DeB MaRtEnS
    Apr 24, 2017
    First and foremost, "Pachinko" is an engrossing, wonderful novel - a saga that follows a family over decades and through immigration, misery and joy, and all that makes a human story richly fascinating. I did not want it to end. This is another book which I hesitated over, after re...
  • Jeanette
    Feb 25, 2017
    Just having finished this behemoth in the last hour, I want to put a disclaimer first. That reading this over a longer period of time than I would usually read a book, even of this length, probably made me MORE analytic than for my usual review. Or reaction. More critical. Because I tr...
  • Lola
    Aug 22, 2018
    I don?t know about you, but I *adore* reading books with titles that I don?t quite understand. I remember when I was reading It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover, the title didn?t exactly make sense to me, UNTIL I finally read the part where it is contextualized and it made me feel ...
  • Lisa
    Jan 18, 2018
    PACHINKO Min Jin Lee MY RATING ????? PUBLISHER Grand Central Publishing/Hachette Audio PUBLISHED February 7, 2017 NARRATED Allison Hiroto Absorbing and thought-provoking, PACHINKO will remain in your memory for years to come. SUMMARY Pachinko is an addicti...
  • Matthew Quann
    Jul 17, 2018
    I picked up Min Jin Lee's Pachinko from Costco primarily because David Mitchell and Junot Diaz's effusive endorsements pop out on the paperback edition and drew me towards a book I might have otherwise overlooked. Luckily, this sprawling epic had me reading compulsively, even when the ...
  • Jess
    Nov 18, 2017
    I couldn't put this book down. I would give it 4 stars because I did really like it (not there with all out love) but I had to bump it to 5 for the fact that I couldn't put it down. A completely absorbing book set in a time, place, and culture I am completely unfamiliar, and rather ign...
  • Hugh
    Jan 13, 2018
    This epic story following a family of Koreans from 1910 to 1989 is a surprisingly easy read for such a long book. The language is deceptively simple apart from the borrowed Korean and Japanese words for which a glossary might have been helpful, as in most cases they are not explained. ...
  • da AL
    Jun 24, 2018
    If I could, I'd give this audiobook 10 stars for writing & audio narration. The author is masterful at teaching us history, examing motives with a generous heart, and letting us think for ourselves. The audio narrator is amazing too. ...
  • Sam
    Dec 02, 2016
    Despite this being a 480 pg mini brick of a book, I absolutely flew through Pachinko on two commutes and a night. It's a sweeping, multi-generational epic of a Korean family, and we follow their collective and individual rises and falls, triumphs and failures, in 19010 - 1930 in Korea ...