Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are

Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are

Blending the informed analysis of The Signal and the Noise with the instructive iconoclasm of Think Like a Freak, a fascinating, illuminating, and witty look at what the vast amounts of information now instantly available to us reveals about ourselves and our world?provided we ask the right questions. By the end of an average day in the early twenty-first century, human bei Blending the informed analysis of The Signal and the Noise with the instructive iconoclasm of Think Like a Freak, a...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are
Author:Seth Stephens-Davidowitz
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:338 pages pages

Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are Reviews

  • Steve Sarner
    Jan 14, 2018
    It?s no lie! Big Data shows the majority of my Goodreads reviews begin with bad Dad Jokes. LOL. This book is The National Enquirer meets Big Data Science. It features all the stuff that stops people in their tracks in the grocery check out line and grabs their attention: Sex, ...
  • David
    Jan 20, 2018
    This is an engaging book about how big data can be used to improve our understanding of human behavior, thinking, emotions, and preference. The basic idea is that if you ask people about their behavior or their preferences in surveys, even anonymous surveys, they will often lie. People...
  • Dan
    Jul 14, 2017
    I recommend this highly with a couple of caveats. The central insight of this book is that you can get a better idea of what people actually think, despite what they say to others (or even to themselves) by looking at Google and Pornhub searches (among other anonymized big data sets...
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    Apr 25, 2017
    via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/ ?In 2014, there were about 6,000 searches for the exact phrase ?how to kill your girlfriend? and 400 murders of girlfriends.? As a chapter tells us, ALL THE WORLD?S A LAB. The data collected and shared by Seth Stephens-...
  • Will Byrnes
    May 02, 2017
    ?people?s search for information is, in itself, information. When and where they search for facts, quotes, jokes, places, persons, things, or help, it turns out, can tell us a lot more about what they really think, really desire, really fear, and really do than anyone might have g...
  • Trish
    Nov 07, 2017
    Maybe everyone does lie. But they don?t lie all the time. Stephens-Davidowitz makes the good point that asking people directly doesn?t always, in fact may not often, yield true answers. People have their own reasons for answering pollsters untruthfully, but it is clear that this is...
  • Ram
    Oct 21, 2017
    For a social scientist such as Stephens-Davidowitz, big data has four central virtues. First, it?s a ?digital truth serum?: it supplies honest data on matters people lie about in surveys, for instance racist attitudes, but above all (to quote Mick Jagger) ?sex and sex and se...
  • Charlene
    Jan 20, 2018
    There are so many things to love about this book. Not the least of which is that it focused largely on how big data would act like a truth serum and replace terrible self report findings when trying to answers myriad questions that arise in all areas of life. I say bravo to that! H...
  • Tadas Talaikis
    May 27, 2017
    Interesting data, but sometimes with uncleared assumptions. For example, there is no way to know why exactly some search term is used. Some (?, I don't know how many) data scientists believe their algos based on big data can reveal something about real world. Most often it is not, but ...
  • Lubinka Dimitrova
    Sep 21, 2017
    I sought out the book after reading an interview with the author, and it was totally worth it. The book is quite enlightening, and to be honest, deeply frightening. Internet data can work miracles for the benefit of humanity, but it can bring to life many unimaginable, Big-Brother-type...
  • Jessica
    Apr 26, 2017
    This book tries too hard to be Freakonomics. The first two parts are full of random examples of interesting but mostly pointless things that can learned via Google search trends. However, a whole lot of assumptions are made off these bits of data that don't seem to have much basis in f...
  • aPriL does feral sometimes
    Mar 01, 2018
    I was annoyed by the author?s writing style in ?Everybody Lies?. I have no doubts author Seth Stephens-Davidowitz was trying to write to a large general audience, including that assumed class of American non-science reader who hates math and binge watches ?Keeping Up with the K...
  • Richard Derus
    Feb 21, 2018
    I have nothing unique to add to the conversation about this book. I think those most in need of reading it won't, and that's frustrating. If you've ever seen a number adduced to explain a trend, read this book. If you've ever asserted that a certain percentage of something was somet...
  • Emma Deplores Goodreads Censorship
    Jul 15, 2017
    3.5 stars This is an engaging and informative book about the huge amount of data available online and what it tells us about society. I read it alongside Dataclysm and found Everybody Lies to be by far the better of the two, presenting a wealth of information in a cohesive fashion a...
  • Atila Iamarino
    Jun 08, 2017
    Acertei em cheio nessa leitura! Seth Stephens-Davidowitz apresenta uma análise de como as pessoas se comportam, na mesma linha do The Signal and the Noise: Why So Many Predictions Fail - But Some Don't e do Dataclisma: Quem somos quando achamos que ninguém está vendo. Mas enquanto S...
  • Book
    Oct 20, 2017
    Everybody Lies: Big Data, New Data, and What the Internet Can Tell Us About Who We Really Are by Seth Stephens-Davidowitz ?Everybody Lies? is an interesting angle on how we can reveal who we really are by analyzing big data. Former Google data scientist, BA in philosophy and wit...
  • Hakan Jackson
    May 26, 2017
    I never really thought of big data that much as a social science tool. After reading this book I'm starting to think big data can do for sociology what MRI has been able to do for psychology. I'm excited to see what the future holds. I definitely can pick up the influence of Freakanomi...
  • Matt Ward
    Jun 05, 2017
    This book could have used a good editor. It tries to be a Gladwell-type of book without fully succeeding. Issue 1 is that the anecdotal stories are not fleshed out enough to really draw you in like Gladwell does. This causes much of the book to come across as a list of facts, and it ge...
  • Jade
    Jul 18, 2017
    Critical analysis of Big Data takes a fine mind that knows how to look at correlations. The author is educated and practiced at it. Not only that but he is adept at choosing to present compelling findings on subjects that I'm sure he knows readers are interested in, because he has that...
  • Wen
    Feb 23, 2018
    The title steered me a bit off-course at first?I thought it was one of those self-help psychology books that I tend to avoid. I eventually decided to give it a shot, mostly because Steven Pinker, and author I highly respect, wrote the forward. So glad I did. To the author Mr. Davi...
  • Caroline
    Jun 10, 2017
    I wish I could give this book more than five stars. Anyone who has a sneaking feeling that Americans aren't who they SAY they are will find confirmation here. It's also easy to read, no academic language here. I was already riveted by the introduction. His premise is that we all lie t...
  • linhtalinhtinh
    May 11, 2017
    A pretty short book with some interesting remarks, but not yet charming enough for me. The author definitely has his quirky and funny moments, when he presents himself, his family, and especially his views more. Yet the books' ideas and findings aren't exactly ground breaking. The type...
  • Anton
    Aug 25, 2017
    Delightful, very engaging read on modern takes on data analysis. Fans of Levitt and Pinker I am sure will enjoy. Hardly any 'cons' to flag up... but it is a bit on a short side and overwhelmingly US focused. Still very clever and thought-provoking Overall: definitely worth your ...
  • Elena
    Oct 07, 2017
    The author is a bit too bragging, exaggerating, and name dropping for my taste. Still, i do not regret spending the time with the book (but would regret paying money if it would not be a library borrow). Memorabilia. Predicting rate of unemployment with the frequency of porn site se...
  • Annie
    Mar 18, 2018
    This is a pretty fun use of "big data"- the mindbogglingly massive data set produced every day from the Internet- to analyze human behavior in ways we never have been able to. Some favourite revelations below. --------Voting-------- Nearly everyone predicted Clinton would win th...
  • Amos
    Jun 28, 2017
    No practicing analyst or social scientist will find anything of value in this book. It verges on being dangerously deceptive, filled with logical fallacies and half baked reasoning for it's conclusions. The book claims to be finding truth in an uncertain world, but actually is just add...
  • Greg
    Nov 25, 2017
    UPDATE: In summary, the author bounces back and forth between real data/numbers and pure speculation. It's fascinating, really, as that's got to be the entire point: to show us how to tell what's real and what's fiction as we are bombarded by information.. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Yes, "Eve...
  • Ahmed Hussein Shaheen
    Nov 19, 2017
    A great book, I enjoyed every word of it. It is amazing how much we can learn about sex, penis size, homosexuality, racism, and many other interesting topics by just looking at the searches made by the people. I can?t wait to read his next book, tentatively titled Everybody (Still) L...
  • Lori
    Oct 23, 2017
    When sociologist ask people if they waste food, people give the only correct answer. It's wrong to waste food. When sociologist survey the contents of the same people's garbage, they get a more accurate answer. Just imagine how much more information is available trolling through...
  • Zak
    Jun 25, 2017
    Good primer on the potential of Big Data. Some really interesting information too. It started off well, I was really hooked the first few chapters but later it got a bit dry, maybe because the subject matters being discussed weren't particularly exciting. I'd say 3.5/5.0 ...