When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a y...

DownloadRead Online
Title:When Breath Becomes Air
Author:Paul Kalanithi
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:B00XSSYR50
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Kindle Edition
Number of Pages:208 pages pages

When Breath Becomes Air Reviews

  • Elyse Walters
    Nov 20, 2015
    1/12/16: Update: Just wanted to mention that this book goes on sale today. Its an amazing story! Paul Kalanithi studied literature at Stanford University. For his thesis, he studied the work of Walt Whitman, a poet , who a century before, was possessed by the same questions th...
  • Petra Eggs
    Feb 05, 2016
    I finished the book. I'm glad that I perservered with it. It's quite an odd book and an overall rating might be the sum of the parts, but is not going to reflect the writing or content of those parts. Ratings, part I, 1 star, part II, 3 stars and part III, 5 stars. The first part, t...
  • Maggie Stiefvater
    May 29, 2016
    A gasping, desperate, powerful little book, bigger on the inside than outside. It's a little bit about dying, but more about being alive. ...
  • Maxwell
    Jan 25, 2016
    I don't think you should read this book because the story of an incredibly gifted man who had his life taken away at such a young age might give you the motivation to live life more fully. I think you should read this book because that talented, inspiring man has incredibly important t...
  • Jill
    Dec 02, 2015
    Sometimes you don?t go out and find a book; the book finds you. Facing an impending loss without a foundation of faith to fall back on, I find myself asking, ?What is the meaning of life if we?re all just going to die?? Paul Kalanithi answers that question in the most meanin...
  • Iris P
    Dec 04, 2015
    Sharing this interesting New York Times interview with Dr. Lucy Kalanithi. She sounds like a very special person too: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/26/hea... *********************************************** Upgrading this to 5 stars, not sure why I didn't before ******************...
  • Justin
    Aug 07, 2016
    I read this almost two months ago and realized I never reviewed it. When I finished the book, I just couldn't review it. It's a small book, but it's powerful. I didn't shed any tears at the end of it, but I remember sitting there physically shaking and feeling really numb and tingly. A...
  • Raeleen Lemay
    Jun 27, 2017
    This was such a beautiful, touching book! Not going to lie, the epilogue by Paul's wife nearly made me cry. SO GOOD. I also highly recommend the audiobook, although the narrator's voice was so soothing that sometimes I found myself not listening to him speak... my bad. ...
  • Esil
    Nov 23, 2015
    A very high 4 stars. When Breath Becomes Air is so good and so sad. It's a brief memoir of a life ended way too early. Kalanithi was 35 years old and finishing his training as a neurosurgeon when he was diagnosed with an aggressive form of lung cancer. As he was living out the end of h...
  • Diane S ☔
    Jan 14, 2016
    As I finished this book with tears running down my face I asked myself, "Why did you read this book? You know it was going to be sad, how could a man dying of lung cancer before the age of forty be anything but." Yet to just classify this memoir, to classify this novel as such is to de...
  • Aisling
    Nov 22, 2015
    Oh dear. I was always told not to speak ill of the dead. It feels awful to give a three star rating to a nice guy (by all accounts) who is now dead. But I simply did not find this book compelling or insightful enough. It is mildly interesting to learn about neurosurgery as a specialty ...
  • Larry H
    Sep 15, 2016
    Wow. I had to wait a little bit to pull myself together before writing a review of this exquisite book, even though I am tremendously late to the party on this one. "...See what it is to still live, to profoundly influence the lives of others after you are gone, by your words. In a ...
  • Rebecca
    Aug 20, 2015
    Our shadow panel selection for the Wellcome Book Prize 2017. I first read this book a year and a half ago; when I picked it back up recently, I thought I?d give it just a quick skim to remind myself why I loved it. Before I knew it I?d read 50 pages, and I finished it the next nigh...
  • Raha
    Jul 13, 2018
    ???? ?? ?? ??? ??? ???? ???? ? ?? ??? ??? ?? ???? ??? ???? ??? ????? ?? ????? ???? ????? ? ??? ??? ????? ?? ???? ?????? ????. ????? ?????? ?? ? ??????? ?? ???? ??...
  • Jaline
    Jul 02, 2018
    Nestled between a wonderful tribute by Abraham Verghese in the form of a Foreword and his wife Lucy?s few chapters, beautiful and poignant in an Epilogue, are the pages containing Paul Kalanithi?s words. Paul Kalanithi tells his story in two parts ? his life as a son and broth...
  • Carol
    Nov 25, 2015
    "This book carries the urgency of racing against time, of having important things to say."I knew going in this would be a tough read for me, and it was, but aside from that, it is a touching, heartbreaking and most "powerful tale of living with death" knocking at your door.Paul Kalanit...
  • Philipp
    Jan 10, 2016
    alternative title: "How the upper class dies" Autobiographical book by a guy who's trained and studied all his life, nearly became a writer, then chose to become a doctor instead (that's what happens when you come from a family of medical doctors), and is diagnosed with cancer at th...
  • Linda
    Mar 07, 2016
    "To begin with -- or, maybe, to end with --I got to know Paul only after his death. I came to know him most intimately when he'd ceased to be." (Abraham Verghese) And we, for the most part, can actually say the same thing about Paul Kalanithi. We've come to know of him only after he...
  • Joseph
    Jan 06, 2016
    Okay, I so wanted to like this very absorbing book more than I did. I am not going to recap it other than to say that Paul came from a privileged background, a very supportive family and an Indian (Asian Tiger) mom. He succumbed to an aggressive form of lung cancer. My own wife died of...
  • Lola
    Mar 18, 2018
    Imagine being sick and dying slowly, without knowing how long you have left. Long enough to keep going on as you did before: working, planning, and dreaming of a future, or long enough to live life like there is no tomorrow? Paul?s calling?neurosurgery?pulled him back to wo...
  • Sabaa Tahir
    Jul 16, 2016
    Never has a book turned me into a sad sobbing mess so quickly. Philosophical, beautiful, moving, difficult, heartbreaking. Highly, HIGHLY recommend. ...
  • Jen
    Jan 24, 2016
    Unforgettable is what Verghese says in his foreword. I agree and am fighting for my own breath to write my thoughts about this stunning memoir that has left me gasping for air. The writing. The emotion. The beauty in the darkness of dying. I mourn the death of this writer, a surgeon ...
  • Glenn Sumi
    Mar 26, 2016
    By now I?m sure you?ve all heard about this book by the young Dr. Paul Kalanithi, who, in his mid-30s, was completing his training as a neurosurgeon and neuroscientist when he was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. At the time, he and his wife Lucy, also a physician, were contemp...
  • Warda
    Jun 22, 2017
    ?Thank you for loving me.? My heart is full! I was not expecting for this book to have the impact on me that it did. What a beautiful account of a man who truly lived his life to the fullest, despite dying quite young. He gave an incredible and resilient narrative on dealing and...
  • Sara Kamjou
    Dec 18, 2017
    ???? ???? ??? ???? ?? ???? ???? ?? ???? ??? ????? ?? ???????. ????? ???? ?????? ???????? ???? ?? ???? ????? ??? ??? ??? ?????? ?? ??? ???? ?? ??? ???? ?? ??????...
  • G.H. Eckel
    Feb 05, 2018
    If you liked Tuesday's With Morrie, you'll enjoy this memoir about a neurosurgeon who contracts cancer at 39. Paul Kalanithi ?99 M.A. ?00 was an instructor in Stanford?s department of neurosurgery and a fellow at the Stanford Neurosciences Institute. At the pinnacle of his tr...
  • Seemita
    Feb 25, 2016
    [Originally appeared here (with edits): http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/li...] It has been a few days since I turned the last page of this book. But the numbness reappears the instant I allow the pages to unfold in my memory. The silence which suddenly parts to let these memories...
  • Amanda
    Jan 12, 2016
    When Breath Becomes Air is one of the most beautifully written, heartbreaking, and affecting memoirs I have ever read. Even though the book is incredibly sad, it is ultimately life affirming and worth the emotional investment. At the age of thirty-six, Paul Kalanthi, a doctor nearin...
  • Pouting Always
    Jun 23, 2017
    Paul Kalanithi is thirty six and so close to finishing his training as a neurosurgeon when he finds out he has stage IV lung cancer. As an undergraduate Kalanithi studied English literature and his love of reading and writing had been a constant through out his life. He had always felt...
  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
    Apr 15, 2018
    Do yourself a favour and don't listened to the ending of this book while doing your makeup... Theres no way to review a book where the author died too young from cancer leaving his wife and 8 months old baby behind without feeling like an asshole for not giving it 5 stars. That?...