The Long-Lost Home

The Long-Lost Home

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the final book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood. Unhappy Penelope Lumley is trapped in unhappy Plinkst! Even the beets for which Plinkst is inexplicably famous fail to g For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Long-Lost Home
Author:Maryrose Wood
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:0062110446
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:440 pages pages

The Long-Lost Home Reviews

  • Charity
    Aug 16, 2018
    My children and I found this an enjoyable read, but they were a little disappointed. They said that the characters didn't act like themselves, and I can see their point. There are some drastic and abrupt personality changes here and some characters that get left behind rather unceremon...
  • Kaarin
    Oct 12, 2018
    This book started rather slowly for me, but soon gained its footing. I found this to be a satisfying conclusion to an enjoyable series. Like the other books in the series, it is full of pithy insights, clever puns, stock characters, unlikely coincidences, and plot twists. Ultimately p...
  • Alicia
    Jun 19, 2018
    http://wordnerdy.blogspot.com/2018/06... I admit that I was a bit grumpy for a large part of this book, because I wanted my long-awaited ANSWERS and instead Wood spends more than half the book dealing with the cliffhanger from book 5. This was all objectively very entertaining, and ...
  • Catherine
    Jul 18, 2017
    According to my 9-year-old (with whom I concur): Book 6: 5 stars Series: 4.5 stars (which is also -- conveniently -- the average of our ratings for the 6 books) Months waited for this final book: 13 (although people who read the series from the beginning had to wait closer to 38 m...
  • Almira
    Aug 28, 2018
    In the previous book (#5), our heroine, Penelope Lumley is "kidnapped" by the terrible Russian family, the Babushkinovs, to become the governess to the most awful mannered, unkind children, 12 year Veronika (spoiled rotten!) and 8 year old twins, Boris and Constantin (brutes of the 1st...
  • Jennifer
    Aug 10, 2018
    George R R Martin classifies authors as either architects (everything planned out in advance) or gardeners (plop in a seed, see what happens). And while I often like the organic garden approach, series based on Conspiratorial Mysterious Events are so, so much better in the hands of arc...
  • Marisa
    Aug 16, 2018
    Nice ending to the series. This one just didn't quite have the same spirit and great flow as the others. It also lacked some of the humor I enjoyed in previous books. At times I felt it was a bit too preachy- as all of the Incorrigible Children books contain some overt lessons, this on...
  • Meredith
    Sep 13, 2018
    A fantastic audio narration, and so sad that the original series narrator passed away. A great ending to a very special and adorable series. ...
  • Dana
    Jul 18, 2018
    I thought this was a satisfying conclusion to one of our favorite series. Like all the other books this one had so many great sayings and funny moments, and we get all the answers...well, most of them. As for the audiobook--What a huge loss with the passing of Katherine Kellgren. S...
  • Joannemarie O'Donnell
    Oct 09, 2018
    Like all the other books in this series, I really enjoyed this. I've been waiting for this book to come out and was saddened that it came out after the passing of the woman who beautifully narrated all of the audiobooks in this series. I was really touched by her tribute to Ms. Kelgren...
  • Joella www.cinjoella.com
    Aug 03, 2018
    I love this series, and this was a good ending that gave all the answers I had been wondering about. Also, the dedication that was read at the end of the book nearly made me cry. Such a good book! ...
  • Barbara
    Sep 24, 2018
    The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book VI: the Long-Lost Home is the long-awaited finale to the Incorrigible Children series by Maryrose Wood. If you?re not familiar with the series, it?s about three children raised by wolves whom Lord Frederick Ashton brings home after...
  • Christa
    Sep 11, 2018
    A perfect ending to a perfect series. Love these. ...
  • Kristen
    Jul 11, 2018
    i wish i hadn't discovered this series until, like, right now. i read the first 5 over a year ago and my memory is awful. i remembered a few things, but another reason i like to read series as close together as possible is because i am more invested that way. otherwise i lose interest ...
  • Melki
    Jun 20, 2018
    "It is a strange feeling, to meet people who make such a vivid impression, and then not know how things turn out for them." This final volume gets off to a sad start as we find our dear Miss Lumley incarcerated dwelling at the Babushkinov's Failing Beet Plantation in Plinkst. Her th...
  • Andrew Wolgemuth
    Jul 23, 2018
    This is a solid conclusion to a wonderful series as loose ends are drawn together in clear, satisfying ways...and yet it doesn't quite have the full whimsy and entertaining absurdity of the other Ashton Place books. Also, while Fiona Hardingham does a lovely job narrating the audio...
  • Jayme
    Jul 07, 2018
    I was devastated to learn that Katherine Kellgren had passed away. Her narration of the first five books was true art. The new narrator did a good job, but it was impossible not to compare and wish for Kellgren's voice back. The acknowledgments and dedication at the end of the book mad...
  • Erica
    Jul 26, 2018
    There is a beautiful dedication and explanation on the narrator switch for this book. I wish the publisher had put it at the beginning as I think it would have made a bigger impression on my listening. The whole time I was listening all I could think was the narrator had done a much be...
  • Elise
    Jul 21, 2018
    When Penelope was talking with Tolstoy at the military barracks in Russia, she recited what she had been trying to teach the Babushkawoos: "...to be kind....To think of other as well as of oneself. To be grateful, not just for good fortune but for all fortune, the good and the bad, for...
  • Sarah
    Oct 11, 2018
    While the ending was a little silly, all in all a great, fun series! It does have a soothsayer and curses. They're presented in a light-hearted way, but I am holding off on the series for my younger children for that reason. ...
  • Karen
    Jul 11, 2018
    Listening to the audio in the car. We were a bit disappointed that it is a new reader for this book. We really liked the old reader and became accustomed to her voices. We are on disc 2 now and this reader is doing a good job of sounding like the original reader with the exception of t...
  • Amalie Simper
    Sep 21, 2018
    This final book in the incorrigible children of ashton place series was so good. Honestly, it really could have been written in 2 books. There were so many details that seemed forced and pushed to end that the author could have expanded on. It took a while to get through all the detail...
  • twice_baked✌️
    Jun 19, 2018
    I had a really hard time deciding what rating to give this book. It was hard, because it's the last book - but I'm not sure if it's the best...because I really liked the fifth, it was full of intrigue even if the ending was sad. But this one has a really good ending, so what can I s...
  • Amber
    Sep 04, 2018
    4.5 stars. The first half of the book could have been shortened, but the series as a whole was loved by my entire family! ...
  • Joseph Leskey
    Sep 15, 2018
    Just quite nearly brilliant, I think, when you add it all together and divide by who knows what. I like the way that this all ends, with spoiler already knowing spoiler and a spoiler spoiler. Admittedly, there were some parts of this tale which seem doubtful, but when one makes careful...
  • Katrina
    Jul 21, 2018
    Miss Penelope is my hero. I absolutely love her character, as well as many, if not all, of the wonderful people you get to meet in this book. From the Incorrigibles (of course!), to Simawoo, to Mrs. Clarke, to Old Timothy, and even to Lord and Lady Ashton, whose character arcs are a wo...
  • Theresa Farrell Tankersley
    Jun 20, 2018
    She pulled it off! A very exciting and satisfying ending to this six book series. The adventure continues! How will it end? You'll have to read it to find out! ...
  • Kim N
    Aug 14, 2018
    I read this series aloud to the girls over the last year. The stories were different from the usual fare and very enjoyable. I loved the way the author used great vocabulary and threaded all kinds of educational topics into the stories (We took the opportunity to study The Raven by Poe...
  • Jennifer Wilkey
    Aug 25, 2018
    What a beautiful conclusion to this wonderful series. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute. So happy to have a satisfying conclusion that remained true to the spirit of the series. The wit, charm, and heart of both the characters and the writing make this one of the best series for child...
  • raffaela
    Oct 09, 2018
    I promised I would review this series (why I'm doing the series as a whole and not book-by-book will become apparent in a moment), so here we go. And without spoilers too! The series tells the story of three children who, before their recent adoption into the wealthy Ashton family, ...