A Beauty

A Beauty

A spellbinding and highly original novel that gives a new name to the Prairie Novel by one of the most exciting new literary voices in Canada. For readers of Alice Munro, Elizabeth Hay, and Marina Endicott. In a drought-ridden Saskatchewan of the 1930s, self-possessed, enigmatic Elena Huhtala finds her self living alone, a young Finnish woman in a community of Swedes in th A spellbinding and highly original novel that gives a new name to the Prairie Novel by one of the most exciting new l...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Beauty
Author:Connie Gault
Rating:
Genres:Cultural
ISBN:A Beauty
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

A Beauty Reviews

  • Alexis
    Sep 30, 2015
    I loved the structure, concept and writing in this book, but felt I got lost in the many characters. The story follows one character, a Finnish woman, as she leaves her small town in Saskatchewan and travels to a variety of other towns, disrupting life in a number of villages. The stor...
  • Nicola Mansfield
    Apr 27, 2016
    3.5/5. I enjoyed this book. It was a quick and easy read for me. I liked the characters and this was important as it is an entirely character driven book. The plot is fairly simple. Set during the depression, in Saskatchewan, a poverty-stricken 18yo girl leaves one evening from a town ...
  • Andrea MacPherson
    Jan 02, 2015
    Actually a 3.5. I've been trying to articulate what I felt about this book. I loved the actual writing--Gault uses language incredibly well--and I was interested in the various perspectives and storylines. But something kept me from feeling really engaged and invested in the st...
  • Jennifer
    Jan 07, 2015
    so, i think this book would have been a better read for me under two circumstances: 1) if i was reading this in the summer time: this story is mostly set on the saskatchewan prairies, during summer. it was hot. stinking, sweating hot. the novel is anchored in the drought, and econom...
  • Shan
    Feb 21, 2015
    I wanted to read this novel because it instantly jumped out at me as being in the same vein as Cool Water by Dianne Warren. Everyday people, simple surroundings, complicated lives - I was instantly reminded of that book when I saw this one and that is why I picked it up. And the compar...
  • Tina
    Jun 16, 2017
    I struggled with the first quarter of this novel ? I wondered where it was going, why Elena would just get into a car with a young man she didn?t know and I didn?t exactly relish Bill?s perspective regarding her (it was possessive while subsequently putting her on a pedestal, m...
  • Lori Bamber
    Jan 02, 2015
    Glorious. ...
  • Krista
    Oct 08, 2015
    I kind of loved A Beauty by Connie Gault. Set in the 1930s dustbowl of rural Saskatchewan, and then revisiting the same small towns three decades later, Gault uses a homespun Prairie voice to make piercing observations about life and love and family and loss. There's a sneaky magic to ...
  • Sherry
    Dec 24, 2014
    A Beauty is a beautifully written novel that realistically captures village life in the Saskatchewan prairies during the Depression Era and into the 1960s. The main character, Elena, is a lonely Finnish young woman whose presence affects the locals in various ways, some more than other...
  • Kari
    Feb 13, 2016
    A Beauty A definite fitting title in many ways but more because the book is filled with beauty in a way. Not only are the descriptions of emotions hauntingly real but also of the Saskatchewan landscape and life in the 30's. Almost all of the characters have been residing in the back ...
  • Heather(Gibby)
    May 13, 2017
    This is a beautiful slow read. It takes place in Saskatchewan during the drought of the '30's, but it is really about relationships. ...
  • J. Robinson
    May 16, 2015
    Faulkner once said that there is nothing worth writing about except the human heart in conflict with itself, and A Beauty is a testament to that view. Unsatisfied desire, regret, the road not taken?these human sorrows inform Connie Gault?s novel. But so do the roads taken, the resu...
  • Trudy Jaskela
    Jan 06, 2019
    I read this book because of my 100% Finnish heritage and because I was raised on a grain farm in south-central Saskatchewan. Some the traits of the main character's father were consisted with the Finnish persons I know. ...
  • Tracie
    Mar 06, 2016
    3.5 stars, I will say the book is beautifully written and enjoyable enough. I just never connected with the characters. The main character Elena, in particular never feels fully realized. I didn't understand her motivation and she seemed so detached and distant. Maybe that was the poin...
  • Myrtle Siebert
    May 04, 2015
    An interesting story well rendered about a location and part of history I have only stories of others, no intimate knowledge. For all but one character the author includes their innermost thoughts. Throughout the book I felt a need to know what Elena's thoughts were and as the book end...
  • Melissa
    Feb 21, 2015
    This novel follows Helena, a teenage girl abandoned by her father, a failed farmer who has disappeared, assumed dead by his own hand, during the depression era in drought ridden Saskatchewan. We follow a starving Helena to a local dance where she meets a stranger and takes her chan...
  • Jeanette
    Nov 07, 2014
    Connie Gault is a new-to-me author - this book came my way via the GoodReads giveaway that ran a short time ago. From the start I was struck by how beautiful her prose is; how gentle an observational touch she gives as each of the characters' portions of the story are told. This wa...
  • Gina
    May 25, 2016
    3 1/2 *** rating. This is a story that is windswept, ethereal and lovely as it slips through time and space. He went to the bedroom and dressed automatically. Buckling his belt, tying his tie and then his shoes, he stared into the past as if it existed in the next room, as if it...
  • Laura
    Jan 04, 2015
    3.5 stars. I got this through First Reads. A Beauty is written in very lovely prose, and it really conjures a bleak-but-homey setting of Saskatchewan in the 1930s, and later. I enjoyed reading it, but this book is slow to move along and doesn't have any real action aside from the go...
  • Carol Lueck
    Jun 07, 2018
    As a reader in Saskatchewan I believe I expected more from this than I found and because of that I was disappointed. My expectations for the "beauty" were disappointed. I kept trying to figure out why she got into the situations she found herself in, but she was on her own doing the be...
  • Cynthia Alice
    May 17, 2015
    Loved it. Disagree though with whoever wrote the description. Elena is NOT Finnish! She's Canadian. The community is not Swedish; IT is Canadian. The writer of the description seems to have confused ancestry with nationality. And that is very important in terms of this story. It is ...
  • Susan
    Apr 19, 2015
    This is beautifully written and evocative of the 1930s in the Prairies. Character development is strong. I could only give it three stars, however, because not very much happens in the novel, and it becomes tedious toward the end. I wish it had been better. ...
  • Pamela
    Jun 28, 2015
    (view spoiler)[It disappoints me. I know Elena had lots of problems (poverty, father pretending to be dead, difficulties), but she took advantage of her gifts, her looks, her allure, and she hurt a lot of people in the process. And yet, Bill comes back to claim her, to help her, to res...
  • GinaRose Cristello
    Jan 18, 2015
    Sometimes what is unsaid is more powerful than what is said. A Beauty completely exemplifies this. Love the prarie setting, both barren and yet rich with character. Connie Gault has this way of constructing sentences so witty and sharp you are constantly being surprised from the beginn...
  • Tara
    Sep 22, 2016
    A prairie road trip that moves through both space and time and eventually makes its way back to the beginning. Although the novel centres around Elena with the journey originally appearing to be hers, the author uses her to introduce the other characters through their reaction to and i...
  • Kristy
    Nov 05, 2017
    What a delightful little read. A beautiful story, lovely characters. Just endearing from start to finish. ...
  • Beverly
    Jun 30, 2016
    Connie Gault examines the issues of the dirty thirties on prairie farms and in towns in rural Saskatchewan. Many farmers who came to Canada in the early 1900's were enticed by the idea of having their own land. The posters that showed a land of rich soil and crops - and a life better t...
  • Laurie
    Nov 26, 2017
    Wonderful--see review from Sages Book Club ...
  • Abigail
    Dec 02, 2018
    Although the book is written well the story never really goes anywhere and nothing is ever explained...I finished the book but was disappointed...I would not recommend this book. ...
  • Decaf1
    Apr 02, 2016
    Dry and dusty as a hot prairie day. The key attribute of protagonist Elena Huhtala is that she is beautiful. Beyond that, the author carefully guards and limits Elena's intellect and emotions. It's hard to believe that Elena completed a high school education or had any friends. Elena a...