Thief of Glory

Thief of Glory

In the tradition of Brock and Bodie Thoene's Zion Chronicles and history-meets-contemporary mysteries like those of bestseller Kate Morton, this WWII drama is both exciting in its revelations and heart-rending in its truth about human nature and forgiveness. In the early 1940s, Jeremiah Prins was a 12-year-old living a content life as the son of a school headmaster in the D In the tradition of Brock and Bodie Thoene's Zion Chronicles and history-meets-contemporary mysteries like those of b...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Thief of Glory
Author:Sigmund Brouwer
Rating:
Genres:Historical
ISBN:0307446492
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:288 pages pages

Thief of Glory Reviews

  • Allyson
    Jan 08, 2015
    Really good story of how a young man survives a Japanese internment camp during WWII ...
  • Susan Meissner
    Jul 18, 2014
    Before reading Thief of Glory, I had no idea what the war was like for the Dutch residents living in what had been Dutch-occupied Indonesia. The novel was eye-opening to say the least. As with other books I?ve read with young protagonists dealing with the harsh realities of adults at...
  • Loraine
    Aug 02, 2015
    SUMMARY: A boy coming of age in a time of war? the love that inspires him to survive. For ten year-old Jeremiah Prins, the life of privilege as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies comes crashing to a halt in 1942 after the Japanese Imperialist invasion of the ...
  • Georgia Herod
    Jun 30, 2017
    Oh, the power and significance of memory! Jeremiah Prins, now an octogenarian, is trying hard to remember rightly his life story. He is the 10-year-old narrator of this sad and difficult work of historical fiction. A coming-of-age narrative--in the midst of a Japanese prison camp. Brig...
  • Anne
    Jul 31, 2014
    Not my favorite WWII area, the far east is not my choice when it comes to this type of story. But this was a well done book about a boy, Jeremiah Prins who finds himself in a Japanese prisoner of was camp during WWII. He is a Dutch boy who is living in the East Indies. Later, in the US...
  • Joanne Bischof
    Dec 03, 2015
    What a book! An incredibly written story and I was thankful for the opportunity to sit down and chat with Sigmund Brouwer after finishing: http://www.joannebischof.com/video-ch... ...
  • Kelly Klepfer
    Nov 23, 2014
    I have a confession. There are books I won't read. My list includes books I think will be sappy or cheesy, or one dimensional. I kind of avoid sci-fi/fantasy because I have enough trouble remembering the important details in the real world. Lastly, I avoid books set in times of war. No...
  • writer...
    Feb 26, 2017
    Unusual view of war as Japan takes over the Dutch East Indies. Told through the eyes of a young boy coming of age in the throes of WW2. Descriptive, emotionally gripping and raw storytelling. Worth recommending. ...
  • Paula
    Jan 26, 2018
    I would give this book 10 stars if I could. It is one of those books that are just that special. I have been to Indonesia five times, yet I found that I really knew nothing about the war in that part of the world. And my Dad served in New Guinea. But I never really talked with him much...
  • Kathleen (Kat) Smith
    Sep 03, 2014
    There comes some novels that are so rare and deep that when you finish them, you are left as though you have no breath left in your body. As if you are reliving something so horrible, you wish it were all simply a bad dream. But this is not the case with a different type of christian h...
  • Nadine Keels
    Oct 07, 2014
    I was unprepared for how good this book is. It put me in acute remembrance of humanity's, and even my own, need for mercy. I think it's fair to point out early that this World War II novel's description/blurb/back cover copy misrepresents what's actually in the book to a significant...
  • Kathleen E.
    Oct 13, 2014
    Monday, October 13, 2014 Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer, © 2014 This is a work of fiction. Apart from well-known people, events, and locales that figure into the narrative, all names, characters, places, and incidents are the products of the author's imagination and are used fict...
  • Josh Olds
    Nov 09, 2014
    QUICK HIT - With immaculate detail and a gripping plotline, Brouwer?s coming-of-age tale is one of his best yet. What would you do if your perfectly comfortable world fell apart? Jeremiah Prins was ten years old when the Japanese invaded his home in the Dutch East Indies. He?d...
  • Randy
    Mar 04, 2015
    Jeremy's life as a prisoner in a Japanese internment camp during WW2 comes as a result of his being in a police station holding cell. He looks back on his life from his position as a retired architect in his 80s. We see the terrible struggles he had to endure in order to fulfill his fa...
  • Vanessa
    Jul 21, 2014
    I really liked this book. This is the story of a family that is trapped in the Dutch East Indies (Indonesia) when the Japanese invaded during World War II. The men and older male children are sent to work camps. The women and children are sent to internment camps. This story is told fr...
  • Heather Manning
    Feb 01, 2015
    I have to admit that I was not completely in love with this book, while the general idea of it was interesting. I didn't like that I was made to believe that this was a romance, when it really was not. I hate to write a negative review, and I don't think the problem was with the book, ...
  • Christine
    Sep 07, 2015
    { ****/ 4.5 stars } I am so glad this was on the Alberta Reader's Choice shortlist, otherwise I don't think I would ever have read it ? and I really was taken in by this book. Mostly by chance, I've been reading a lot of of novels set during WWII this year, and while I am able to...
  • Jamie
    Nov 12, 2014
    I have to say, this isn?t like any World War II novel I?ve read. Not only because it deals with a different theater of war (I normally read those of the home front or European theater), it shows such a different side of war, through the eyes of a 10 year old boy and is based on the...
  • Staci
    May 20, 2015
    It's rare to find a WWII novel set in the eastern theater. Thief of Glory is set in the Dutch East Indies and told through the eyes of a "Jappencamp" survivor. Much of the story is told through ten year old Jeremiah's eyes. He is an easy character to love. He is kind, strong, stubborn ...
  • Beverly
    Nov 19, 2014
    Of the books I've read from Sigmund Brouwer's pen, Thief of Glory is my favorite. In his signature storytelling style, this work of historical fiction is reminiscent of a memoir, shared like a series of journal entries written in the first person from the perspective of a 10-year-old...
  • Glenda
    Oct 27, 2018
    I enjoyed the historical part set in Dutch East Indies (Indonesia) and during the Japanese taking over this part of the Pacific. The unfolding of the story had parts both exciting and there are parts that is too descriptive that have me want to skip to the next chapter. But over all th...
  • Wendy
    Dec 13, 2014
    Didn't finish ...
  • Katherine Wacker
    Apr 12, 2018
    In his book, Thief of Glory, Sigmund Brouwer tells the story of Jeremiah Prins whose advantaged life in the Dutch East Indies is swept up into World War II. Forced into a Japanese internment camp, and separated from his father and older brothers, Jeremiah takes it upon himself to en...
  • Alisha L.
    Aug 01, 2014
    **Note: I do not recommend this book for anyone who is not an adult due to some gruesome and graphic scenes/descriptions and mature themes.** First off I would like say that I chose this book because I love reading books about World War II (both fiction and non-fiction) and I was ex...
  • Maria
    Nov 07, 2014
    Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer is historical fiction centered around WWII. The blurb talks about love amidst the internment camp, and it sounds like this really good story. But trust me, it's not... Buyer beware this shouldn't be considered a Christian book in any sense of the word....
  • Maryann Jorissen
    Feb 21, 2018
    Oh my goodness, this book was so good. I could barely put it down until I finished it. The writing is done so well that it brings the reader into the world and minds of characters to root for them during each of their challenges. I think the category is historical fiction. But there ...
  • Reet Champion
    Sep 18, 2014
    One boy to protect a frail family in the middle of a Japanese concentration camp. It seems to be impossible but Jeremiah Prins has determined he will stand in his father's stead to care for his mentally frail mother and host of siblings. It's a task a grown man would find taxing; for J...
  • Dale
    Jun 22, 2017
    I totally enjoyed this book because I learned more about the WW II in the Pacific. I learned about the plight of the Dutch in the Dutch East Indies. The treatment of the POWs by the Japanese was similar to other novels/history that I have read. Because this was the perspective of a chi...
  • Brianna Lewis
    Aug 01, 2014
    What an amazing, heart wrenching book. I didn't know much about the Dutch East Indies during the Japanese occupation during the war. Very eye opening. The book was well-written, and I was almost immediately pulled into the story. Definitely one of the best books I've read this year. ...
  • Mr. Ethan Mingerink
    Jan 16, 2018
    1. 5 stars. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it very interesting. I learned about a part of the war I hadn't really known anything about previously, and found the book to be educational as well as entertaining. The book really kept me interested and wanting to read more. WARNINGS: Thi...