The Weight of Blood

The Weight of Blood

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense about two mysterious disappearances, a generation apart, and the meaning of family-the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love. The Dane family's roots tangle deep in the Ozark Mountain town of Henbane, but that doesn't kee For fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense about two mysterious...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Weight of Blood
Author:Laura McHugh
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:The Weight of Blood
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:302 pages pages

The Weight of Blood Reviews

  • karen
    Jan 09, 2014
    3.5 stars, actually... without even consciously trying to, i have read seven books so far this year, and all of them have been by women. take that, patriarchy! but don't start raising me on the shoulders of feminism just yet, because what i am about to say will probably cause you to...
  • Dan Schwent
    Feb 25, 2015
    When the dismembered body of one of her friends is found, Lucy Dane goes down a rabbit hole of sex trafficking, a rabbit hole that nearly claimed her missing mother decades earlier. Will Lucy discover her mother's true fate before she meets her own? I've had this book for at least a...
  • Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
    Jan 08, 2014
    Set in the fictional town of Henbane in the Ozark Mountains this story could be billed as girl hick lit. NOOOO! Not the Honey Boo Boo version..more like this: Lucy Dane's slow minded friend Cheri had gone missing, now she has turned up in pieces and Lucy is one of the f...
  • Carol
    Jan 08, 2014
    Thank you Random House for the privilege of reading this advance copy of Weight of Blood due to be published this March. What immediately struck me and whetted my interest to read this book was its title Weight of Blood. The images this evokes are intriguing. Does it mean the true ...
  • Marvin
    Mar 13, 2014
    Laura McHugh's powerful novel is being compared to those of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell. McHugh uses the same rural Ozark environment as Woodrell. If it isn't as depressingly steeped in meth and nihilism as Woodrell, it isn't for lack of trying. But McHugh's writing style clings ...
  • Dem
    Jan 08, 2014
    The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh . A well written and suspenseful novel and a coming of age story dealing with the mystery of two women one who is murdered and the other who disappeared and both a generation apart. The story about the two women is told in alternation chapters...
  • Sue
    Mar 07, 2014
    This is an exciting book, a good story of life in a very small town in the Ozark region of Missouri where a teenaged girl finds herself caught in the midst of multiple mysteries involving her family and missing girls. The most important missing person is her own mother who disappeared ...
  • Diane S ☔
    Aug 12, 2013
    Told in alternating chapters by different voices this is a very dark story set in the Ozarks. Lucy grew up never knowing what happened to her mother but when a friend of hers goes messing she sets out to find answers and what she dines brings the truth back into her own family. A so...
  • Bonnie
    Oct 13, 2013
    My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars Release Date: March 11, 2014 I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. The Weight of Blood is a dual-narrative story separated by decades with a ...
  • L.A. Starks
    Nov 10, 2017
    This book, McHugh's first novel, won the top award from International Thriller Writers for best debut novel. The Weight of Blood has superb dialogue and is set, like much of Gone Girl, in Missouri--a rich new setting for writers, it appears. I found myself expecting more horrifie...
  • Connie G
    May 22, 2014
    3.5 stars rounded up to 4 Henbane is a small impoverished rural town in the Ozarks where people seem to take justice in their own hands, and crime is overlooked. The ineffectual members of the police force are probably related to almost everyone in town. Lila, an orphan from Iowa who ...
  • Ashifa
    Mar 15, 2014
    Is it just me or does Lucy seem unable to react to what is happening around her. She finds her uncle is (view spoiler)[ trafficking humans, and that her own mother was brought in for the same reason (hide spoiler)] and yet she doesn't react like it's something out of the ordinar...
  • Leanne
    Nov 07, 2013
    The problem with reading multiple books at once is that one always wins out, and as a direct consequence, the others often get abandoned altogether. I have a difficult time finishing a book after I've left it because I've usually forgotten half of the characters' names, become distance...
  • Perry
    Mar 08, 2014
    Damn Bloody Rednecks Outstanding debut told from perspective of multiple narrators, primarily mother and daughter, 17 yrs apart. The book has one of the most despicable villains in recent lit. The eponymous quote: "You grow up feeling the weight of blood, of family. There's no fo...
  • Jenny
    Feb 17, 2014
    Reading this book, the title quickly started to make sense: The people of Henbane, a rural area in the Ozark Mountains, seem to be bound together by the weight of blood - the blood on their hands as well as the blood that ties them. Laura McHugh's novel is narrated by two main voice...
  • Sanda
    Mar 12, 2014
    I am absolutely and positively in love with this book....with its story, its setting, its characters...and despite the fact that the "I'm so high on this book let me rave about it right away" version of my review got carried into oblivion by the magical forces of my Firefox, my initial...
  • Stepheny
    Aug 24, 2018
    3.5 Lucy Dane is a 16 year-old girl who lives in a tiny little hick-town in the Ozark Mountains. A little place known as Henbane. Her best friend is found murdered. Her mother disappeared when she was a toddler. There?s deeply rooted superstistions and a whole lot of ?don?t as...
  • Diane Barnes
    Jan 20, 2015
    I started this one as an audio book, but about 2/3 of the way through I had to switch to the written version because I can read faster than audio can read to me. The novel had progressed to the point that I was too impatient to know what happened. This is a very good first novel set in...
  • Laura
    Jun 20, 2014
    Hilarious that at times this reminded me of daniel Woodrell's writing and I read the description and it specifically said you might enjoy if you like his writing. I loved this book. It was intense and disturbing and gritty all in one book. I loved how you jump back and forth between na...
  • Andrea ❤Ninja Bunneh❤
    Jan 08, 2014
    I recently read two books by Gillian Flynn, Sharp Objects and Dark Places. Seeing that The Weight of Blood was compared to Flynn style books, I was sure I'd love it. Unfortunately, no. Lucy is a teenage girl growing up in the Ozarks in a teeny tiny backwards town called Henban...
  • Karin Slaughter
    Feb 26, 2014
    Excellent stuff. I loved this book so much that I decided to publish it under my imprint in Holland. I've always been fascinated by the Ozarks and how people survive the hard life the mountains have laid out for them. When people talk about poverty in America, they tend to mean the inn...
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    May 14, 2014
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ ?For fans of Gillian Flynn . . .? Seriously. Just stop it. Right. NO ONE likes this. It makes me feel all . . . Bitey. In this case (like most) it isn?t even true. Now, I am admitted...
  • Zoeytron
    Nov 18, 2013
    It is interesting to live in the area in which a story is set. Although Henbane is a fictional town in Missouri, Springfield is real and is my own personal stompin' grounds. Branson is within spittin' distance. Both are mentioned several times in The Weight of Blood. The author capture...
  • Jamise // Spines & Vines
    Mar 05, 2014
    An impressive, captivating and thrilling debut novel! The author's magnetic words pull you in from the first page. Once you start you will not want to put this book down! Laura McHugh moves gracefully from past to present as she tells a deliciously suspenseful adventure. The charact...
  • Liz Barnsley
    Nov 12, 2013
    Coming March 2014 from Random House Publishing Group. Thank you to the author and publisher for the review copy via netgalley The Dane family?s roots tangle deep in the Ozark Mountain town of Henbane, but that doesn?t keep sixteen-year-old Lucy Dane from being treated like an...
  • Ned
    Jan 22, 2015
    This was a cleanly written, simple story that evokes the emotions of young girls exploited by older men. A daughter whose mother mysteriously disappeared is sought 15 years after the fact. The story unfolds cleverly, told from all the characters? point of view in separate chapters. I...
  • Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
    Feb 20, 2014
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. This is an astonishing book, brilliantly written and both engaging and disturbing at the same time. I was truly lost in the story reading this, unaware of the world around me. I...
  • Jenna
    Mar 06, 2014
    "You grow up feeling the weight of blood, of family. There's no forsaking kin. But you can't help when kin forsakes you or when strangers come to be family" Deep in the Ozark Mountains, in the town of Henbane, there are many secrets and very few answers. The majority of the book fo...
  • SUSAN   *Nevertheless,she persisted*
    Jan 27, 2015
    Review to come,loved this book. ...
  • Rebecca McNutt
    Jan 16, 2018
    I'm addicted to the free book table at my college. Take a book, leave a book, everybody wins. Last week I got a paperback copy of The Weight of Blood, which wasn't an overly memorable crime noel to me but it's still definitely a likable one with plenty of great character development an...