The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunn...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Author:Daniel James Brown
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:416 pages pages

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Reviews

  • Elyse
    Jul 10, 2014
    Wow!!! The books power is in the storytelling. Starts right out on page 1 These were remarkable men -their sacrifice - committed dedication - had to scape for everything -their boat wasn't just handed to them... not all had cozy supportive families. Joe Rantz's humanity - espe...
  • Tom
    Aug 27, 2013
    This may not be my final rating of this book, but I have to put it down for a while because I find it simply boring, and I have a backlog of other books that look SO much more interesting. Why this has achieved an average rating of 4.5 on Goodreads I don't understand, unless it all com...
  • Trish
    Jun 13, 2013
    If I told you one of the most propulsive reads you will experience this year is the non-fiction story of eight rowers and one coxswain training to attend the 1936 Olympics in Berlin, you may not believe me. But you?d need to back up your opinion by reading this book first, and you wi...
  • Emily
    Jul 27, 2014
    This book was all right, but there was just too much of it and the title isn't very descriptive. It's really only about one of the nine "boys in the boat," plus their coach and the boatbuilder. Oh, and Hitler. Perhaps the author came to the project 10-15 years too late; only one of...
  • Dem
    Jul 04, 2015
    The Boys In The Boat in an extremely beuatifually written account of the Universary of Washingtons's Rowing team that won a gold Metal in 1936 Berlin Olympics' I had no real desire to read a book about sport let alone read a book about rowing but something about a frinds's rev...
  • Brina
    Jul 12, 2015
    I read this book because my father kept telling me that I would enjoy it. Truthfully, l finally picked up so he would stop nagging me about it even though it is about sports and history- my two favorite things. Boys in the Boat is the motivational story of Joe Rantz, his wife Joyce, ...
  • Diane S ☔
    May 26, 2013
    If someone had told me I would become emotionally invested is a book about rowing, I would have thought they were crazy. First, I knew little about rowing and second, I had no desire to learn. A read for a group I am in had me picking up this book and I am so glad I did. As many mother...
  • Donna
    Sep 07, 2013
    I don't know why I put off reading this book so long, except I was reading other things. BUT when I went to visit my son, who is the grandson of Joe Rantz and named his son Joe after him, I began reading their copy and could not put it down. Everything else I was reading was put aside....
  • Matthew
    Sep 15, 2017
    I love books and movies that get you interested in sports you never cared about before. Also, I love how the Olympics does the same thing. You turn on the TV and suddenly life itself depends on the outcome of some not quite mainstream sport like biathlon, cycling, diving, curling, etc....
  • Jen
    Dec 10, 2014
    Why did I wait so long to read this? Well, a couple of reasons: 1) It?s about rowing?No offense, it?s just not a sport I?m wowed by. 2) It?s about a group of Americans going to the 1936 Olympics in Berlin. Hey, I?m Canadian, eh... American patriotism and propaganda isn?t ...