The Naturals (The Naturals #1)

The Naturals (The Naturals #1)

Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But it?s not a skill that she?s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they?ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie. What Cassie doesn?t r Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Naturals (The Naturals #1)
Author:Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:The Naturals
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:308 pages pages

The Naturals (The Naturals #1) Reviews

  • Miriam
    Dec 02, 2015
    This book is a built-in negation of its own premise. Cassandra and her fellow teens are supposed to be "naturals" at reading people and deducing clue to their behavior (eg. knowing what motivates serial killers, telling when people are lying, etc) but this only ever happens in cont...
  • Dark Faerie Tales
    Mar 10, 2015
    Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales Quick & Dirty: Amazing young adult mystery that was full of wonderful characters, sweet romance, and a very intriguing plot! This is one of the best mysteries I have read in a really long time and I would highly recommend it! Opening Sent...
  • Jillian (bookishandnerdy)
    Jul 29, 2017
    good lord i don't know why this has taken me so long to read. i had heard this was great but i never knew. i NEVER KNEW how great until UGH. cassie is such a great character and yeah this definitely is tropey for a thriller mystery and is basically criminal minds in young adult form...
  • Khanh (the meanie)
    Jun 25, 2013
    This book is Criminal Minds fanfiction, for the under-15 crowd. It takes a great deal of suspension of disbelief to read this book; and I'm not talking about the preposterousness of the idea that children---teenagers, can be FBI criminal investigators. The necessary suspension of d...
  • Jamie
    Aug 04, 2013
    If you like the shows like Criminal Minds, Homeland, CSI or Coldcase and want to mix it up with some teen drama, you will probably enjoy this book. Cassie is very good at reading people. She can tell you a bit about ones tastes, lifestyle, etc just by looking at you. When given the cha...
  • Giselle
    Jul 29, 2013
    The Naturals is a hit or miss for me and very hard to review. Some parts of the book I really enjoyed, while others I found lacking. To give you an example - I'm not even sure if this book is part paranormal or not. As a serial killer mystery, however, it has its fair share of appealin...
  • Julia
    Nov 18, 2013
    It was a freaking mega fantastic book. I simply couldn't stop reading it. It was mind-blowing and thrilling at the same time. I haven't been on such emotional roller coaster for a long time. I loved one characters, I hated another but after some pages everything became vice versa. It...
  • Veronica Morfi
    Feb 10, 2013
    Rating: 4.5/5 The Naturals is a great book for fans of Criminal Minds, CSI and shows like them. I am a fan of all those kind of shows and when I read the blurb of this book I was dying to get my hands on it. And I am really glad I did. This had mystery, murder, serieal killers, kids...
  • RavenclawReadingRoom
    Nov 05, 2017
    Trigger warnings: murder, blood, death of a parent, stalking, serial killers. So the second I heard April say that this was like a young adult version of Criminal Minds, I knew I had to read it. And that's a pretty stinking accurate description of this book. The gist of it is t...
  • Jeann (Happy Indulgence)
    Jul 27, 2013
    This review appears on Happy Indulgence. Check it out for more reviews! I have no idea why it took me so long to read The Naturals. But I?m so glad I finally did, because I really enjoyed the FBI angle. The Naturals is about a group of teens who help the FBI solve crimes with ...
  • Sue (Hollywood News Source)
    Nov 17, 2013
    It?s been so long since I?ve read a YA book that I finished in one sitting down. The Naturals is mind-blowing and thrilling. Mini review to come. ...
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    Jan 03, 2016
    Mini review: DNF When I had first heard about this book I was hesitant. At the time I wasn't interested in reading this. I ended up reading the author's other book The Fixer. While I didn't enjoy it I wanted to read this book. Unfortunately this book was a mess. It felt reall...
  • mith
    Oct 23, 2013
    This was so brilliant. ...
  • Faye, la Patata
    Aug 18, 2013
    Man, this was such a huge letdown. I was really looking forward to this book because I thought I'd finally get to read something like Criminal Minds or Lie To Me or, heck, even CSI. I loved those shows; I gobbled them all up when I first learned about their existence. The Natural...
  • Wanderlust
    Apr 08, 2015
    I loved the book, the reasons it is not a 5 star are as followed; * It was too YA to really hook me all the way. * The ending was slightly predictable, I didn't guess it exactly, but almost. * The "natural thing" kinda bugged me as I thought, honestly if some people could do this, ...
  • l a i n e y
    Jan 30, 2017
    You know what astounds me about these MCs in YA literature?? Their level of self-confidence which easily, and almost always, borders on the self-centered/self-delusional-ness territory. I truly can't imagine anyone would hurt other people for my sake at all, let alone to actually...
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    Nov 01, 2013
    Muuuuuurder. That's all that needs be said, peoples. Go read this book because there's serial killers and murders and bone-chilling plot twists. I love reading these kind of books, but am I ever frightened? Um, nope. I always feel like it's definitely a book and not reality. BUT THIS W...
  • Natalie (Never trust a duck)
    Jun 24, 2015
    People are bat-shit crazy. ...
  • Lola  Reviewer
    May 25, 2016
    Who says teenagers can?t be FBI agents? Definitely not Cassandra Hobbes, a profiler recruited by the FBI to be part of their program. She analyzes people. She can find the slightest details about someone and use them to solve puzzles. However, the training part of the program i...
  • Bee (Heart Full of Books)
    May 23, 2016
    For fans of Ally Carter, for sure! I really loved this book; it was fast-paced and the cliff-hangers were excruciating. I TORE through this book, wanting to know how it was all going to end, and I was not disappointed! I think the only cringey bit (that meant I couldn't give it 5 stars...
  • Maddie (Heart Full Of Books)
    May 22, 2016
    WOAH. This was AMAZING! I really didn't expect to love it this much, but you can't argue with Xavier's Institute vibes and serial killer mysteries! It had my favourite gender balance of characters, three girls and two boys, was blurbed by Ally Carter and was all about teens training to...
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    Dec 05, 2015
    REREAD OCTOBER 2017 Wasn't as good as the first time because obviously I knew who the killer was, but still, this series is so good! JANUARY 2016 *4.5 STARS* WOW. What a way to start off my reading year! This literally is a YA version of Criminal Minds with a tiny paranormal twi...
  • Lexie
    Jun 01, 2016
    Reviewed at The Honest Bookclub. Oh, this book feels a little bit like home. (Because YA mystery, serial killers, the FBI, behavioral science and psychopaths are apparently home to me.) Hear me out. It's not how it sounds. Because I am the sort of weirdo who reads the Acknowle...
  • Praiz Sophyronja
    Jun 02, 2014
    Duuuuude. This was surprisingly dark considering it's genre. I was not expecting this to be as good as it is. I even lost a little sleep so, kudos Ms. Barnes, kudos. This was supposed to be a filler book that was kinda just there and I don't know how to NOT read... But damn. I'm mental...
  • Glory
    Sep 27, 2015
    ?? ????? ?????? ???? ????????? ????? ??????? ?????????: YA, ????????? ???????, ????????????? ? ????????????????. ? ? ????? ????? ???????? ???????????. ???...
  • bella ϟ✨
    Nov 04, 2017
    2.5/5 ?Sloane slipped an arm around my waist. "There are fourteen varieties of hugs," she said. "This is one of them.? This book sparked my interest when I saw it marketed as a teenage Criminal Minds, teens with natural talents (such as profiling, statistics, detection of ...
  • Emma Giordano
    May 17, 2014
    I honestly didn't even have time to add this to my "currently reading" shelf because i completed this book in whopping 2 1/2 hours, WOAH. This book was absolutely phenomenal! I am so compelled to do a booktube review of it because there are just so many amazing things I have to say abo...
  • Princess J. Antoinette
    Jan 22, 2018
    What can I say about this book? Well for starters it was about exceptional teenagers with certain gifts. This book was different from anything I've read in the past meaning not really romantic or adventurous but more of things that may boggle your mind with a twist of suspense and a to...
  • Maggie ☘ (Reader in Wonderland)
    Nov 14, 2016
    ?None of us had normal childhoods," Sloane said quietly. "If we had, we wouldn't be Naturals.? This is kind of unusual review for me, since I've already read the first three book in this series (In very record time!) Actually finished the third book - All In - just right n...
  • Lia Bonnibel
    Nov 17, 2017
    Easiest five stars I've given a book these past six months. To be fairly honest, it was a 4,5 at the start because it has little flaws that prevent it from being absolutely perfect, but since it put me in such a fierce and euphoric mood, I decided to round the ratings up. After all, ...